Claiming Victory: A Romantic Comedy (The Dartmouth Diaries Book 1) by Beverley Watts

Claiming Victory is a funny contemporary romantic comedy that will appeal to every woman who still believes fairy tales can come true…

…”So let me get this straight Admiral. Your plan is to somehow get the most famous actor in the world, to fall in love with your daughter Victory, who we both love dearly, but – and please don’t take offence Sir – who you yourself admit is built generously across the aft, and whose face is unlikely to launch the Dartmouth ferry, let alone a thousand ships…”

Victory Shackleford is a spinster, or at least well on the way to becoming one. She is thirty two years old, still lives with her father – an eccentric retired Admiral, and the love of her life is a dog.
She thinks her father is reckless, irresponsible, and totally incapable of looking after himself. He thinks his daughter is a boring nagging harpy with no imagination or sense of adventure and what’s more, he’s determined to get her married off.
Unfortunately there’s no one in the picturesque yachting town of Dartmouth that Tory is remotely interested in, despite her father’s best efforts.
But all that is about to change when she discovers that her madcap father has rented out their house as a location shoot for the biggest blockbuster of the year. As cast and crew descend, Tory’s humdrum orderly existence is turned completely upside down, especially as the lead actor has just been voted the sexiest man on the planet…

Full of romantic humour, Claiming Victory is a must for fans of funny love stories – especially quirky British Romantic comedies.

Author: Beverley Watts

Rating: Rating: 4.20 / 5
233 reviews

To Save a Sinner by Adele Clee

Historical Regency Romance

To Save a Sinner
Shunned by Society for causing the death of Lord Banbury, the charismatic Lucas Dempsey is disowned by his family and sent to live in Boston. When his brother pleads for his return, Lucas expects to be the topic of scandalous gossip. He did not expect to be woken from his bed by an intriguing young lady determined to save his wicked soul.

Winner of the 2015 Chicago-North RWA Fire & Ice Contest (historical category)

Author: Adele Clee

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
385 reviews

A Scone To Die For (Oxford Tearoom Mysteries ~ Book 1) by H.Y. Hanna

“Scones, a tea shop in England, a kitty & a murder – yes, please!”When an American tourist is murdered with a scone in her quaint English tearoom, Gemma must solve the mystery with the help of the nosy Old Biddies and a mischievous little feline named Muesli. But between her bossy, matchmaking mother and the return of her old college love as a handsome CID detective, Gemma soon has her hands full and her head spinning!Murder is bad for business, especially when customers think your scones are more deadly than delicious. With the body count rising and her tearoom going bust, can Gemma find the killer before things turn to custard?(*Traditional English scone recipe included)This book follows British English spelling and usage.Clean read: no graphic violence, sex, or strong language.Genre: humorous culinary cozy mysteries, cat cozy mystery series / women amateur sleuth / British detective mysteryOXFORD TEAROOM MYSTERIESA Scone To Die For (Book 1)Tea with Milk and Murder (Book 2)Two Down, Bun To Go (Book 3)Till Death Do Us Tart (Book 4)Muffins and Mourning Tea (Book 5)Four Puddings and a Funeral (Book 6)

Author: H.Y. Hanna

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
643 reviews

Killed by James Kipling

Jake Walker has pressures coming at him from all sides. A long-time homicide detective for the city, he’s also a divorced father of three kids. With the kind of work he does, family life often takes a back seat. This is certainly the case when the bodies of the most outstanding players on the State College football team start being discovered brutally murdered.

Why would anyone want to murder these guys? Detective Walker has to put family and everything else aside to solve these crimes before anyone else falls victim to this vicious killer the press is now calling “The Card Counter”.

As each victim turns up, the case becomes more traumatic and bizarre. The killer has a point to make and will continue to make people pay with their lives . . . until Walker and the rest of the city GETS IT!! Find out who is murdered next and follow Detective Walker until he uncovers the truth behind these killings, the twisted motive for this murderous rampage.

Amazon Reader Reviews of ‘Mystery Thriller & Suspense: “The Card Counter” A Horror Crime Fiction Detective Murder Mysteries book as part of Conspiracy Thrillers with Serial Killers’:

“Brilliant and riveting book! James Kipling has once again mastered his method of throwing the reader straight into this dark fantasy right from the start. An excellent detective story creatively wrapped into a mystery and suspense thriller. Extremely well written. Crime and Mystery fills the pages as dead bodies are found all over the place. An intellectual murder and mystery thriller as this detective does what he does best adding being a good father to this weird thought thrilling equation.

James Kipling has the book glued to your hands with his exciting writing style with crime and murder twists and turns. I highly recommend this book to those who enjoy the Author’s books but those enjoying a mystery and suspense thriller captivated in a dark fantasy. Yet again, Brilliant! ”

“This is a great pick when you need an intellectual puzzle, a suspensful thriller, and crime fiction with the thread of revenge running through it. The procedural is written in the first person, so we really get to know Devon, and that’s a great thing because he’s a cool guy. I liked his devotion to fatherhood, especially since we don’t have near enough serious genre characters who are also dads. Through his eyes we understand the high personal stakes he brings to all of his work, and especially to this case involving murdered students. I loved the way the relationship with his own daughter Cassie aids his work both as indirect inspiration and also directly. Big points to Kipling for pulling off those unique scenes.

The darker elements of the story don’t suffer at all from the family themes, in fact, kids are at risk throughout the whole story. Walker is a father but he’s first and foremost a relentless detective, and there is a lot of tension and action pushing the plot forward. Untangling the mystery is great, in a ripped from vengeful headlines way. Highly recommend this one for fans of crime fiction and suspenseful thrillers.”

“This is a hard book to put down! It follows Detective Jake Walker through a multiple homicide investigation, as well as his family life as he tries to be a good dad to his three daughters and deal with his ex-wife at the same time. Once the killings commence, it’s a roller coaster ride until the very end of the book. I ended up turning the pages as fast as I could in order to see what would happen next, because the author does a great job of keeping the reader guessing. Just when you think you know the pattern of the story, it twists an entirely different way. I thought I knew who the killer would turn out to be, and of course, I was completely wrong. Detective Walker’s character is very well-developed, so that the reader gets to know him both professionally and personally. Overall, this is a very readable suspenseful book that will keep you wanting more from this author.”

Author: James Kipling

Rating: Rating: 4.00 / 5
344 reviews

Shadowland by C.M. Gray

This is the story that came before, when Britain was just a Shadowland.We grow up with the Legend of King Arthur, but where did he come from? Who was Merlin? What part did the Druids play in bringing Arthur to his round table? On the night of Midwinter’s Eve, a storyteller takes his listeners back to the Dark Ages and a tale from his youth:`I have lived more years than I can remember, probably more than the sum of all your years combined. Kings have called me friend and brigands have sworn to burn the flesh from my bones, even if they have to search all seven halls of the shadowland to find me.’Deserted by its Roman masters, Britain has been invaded by the Saxons at the invitation of Vortigern, traitorous leader of the Britons. As the tribes unite to reclaim their land, one man must rise to lead them and become their only true king.

Author: C.M. Gray

Rating: Rating: 4.30 / 5
278 reviews

Out of the Shoebox: An Autobiographic Mystery (Historical Nonfiction story) by Yaron Reshef

Did you ever get a phone call that changed your life?That is what happened to author of this book. A mysterious unexpected phone call hurls Yaron Reshef into an intensive two-year journey, during which he has to solve a mystery that took shape in the 1930s and gradually unfolded in the present. A mysterious lot, a forgotten bank account, a people long gone ”” along with their memory which were obliterated during the Holocaust. All of these rise to the surface, bearing with them memories and emotions previously hidden away in the shoebox.Out of the Shoebox is a fascinating journal that reads like a detective story, comes across as an imaginative quest into the past, yet is the true personal story of the writer, Yaron Reshef. “I had no intention of writing a book. I had no need to write a story in general nor a story about my family and the Holocaust in particular. But life being what it is, sometimes things happen in mysterious, even surprising ways. Stuff that used to take center stage moves to the background, and background stuff moves downstage and center. That’s what happened in my case.” Yaron Reshef *** I read this fascinating book as a “quest story” and couldn’t stop reading it even for one moment. It is the story of the children of holocaust victims”. Rose Finkelman “Together with its literary values, Yaron Reshef’s book,” Out of the Shoebox”, can be used as a textbook or a model for anyone who believes in Intuitive Methods of information search”. A. Panini “It’s a long time since I enjoyed so much reading a historical story. It is an optimistic novel that tells us about the nature of reconciliation and acceptance”. Moses Bari Out of the shoebox reads absolutely like a detective story. When I read Yaron’s book I felt like “hearing the author voice reading me the story”. It was a spiritual experience for me. Ruth Levine Scroll up and grab a copy today.

Author: Yaron Reshef

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
481 reviews

Mission Improbable (Carrie Hatchett, Space Adventurer Series Book 1) by J.J. Green

In the deepest reaches of the galaxy there are places and beings that aren’t impossible, just very, very improbable.
Carrie Hatchett is a low-achieving daydreamer, and the last person on Earth who should be resolving disputes for the Transgalactic Council. After providing a good home for her butt-ugly dog and psychotic cat, her biggest challenge in life is to avoid being fired, again.
But a strange green mist sucks her beneath her kitchen sink, and an unusual clerical error leads to an offer she foolishly doesn’t refuse.
In settling a conflict between the mechanical placktoids and the mysterious oootoon, Carrie reveals a threat to the entire galaxy.
Mission Improbable is Book One in the light-hearted, fast-paced Carrie Hatchett Space Adventures series.
Fans of Dr Who and Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy will love this book.

“…like Scully and Mulder on acid.”

Author: J.J. Green

Rating: Rating: 4.20 / 5
77 reviews