Mary Barton by Elizabeth Gaskell

A tale of love, class, and murder during the era of the trade-union movement in nineteenth-century England, from the author of North and South. In Manchester, long-suffering John Barton and his daughter, Mary, both want a better future for each other.  John toils away with the trades’ union for better wages for his fellow workers in the textile mill, while Mary must consider whom she will marry. She decides to leave the working-class Jem Wilson, hoping instead to wed Harry Carson, the wealthy mill owner’s son. But when Harry is shot down in the street, Jem becomes the prime suspect—and learning the truth may yield a future Mary cannot bear.   A portrait of the working class’s struggles during the Victorian era, Mary Barton was Elizabeth Gaskell’s first novel. She went on to write classics such as Wives and Daughters and was the creator of the town of Cranford, the setting for several BBC series.

Author: Elizabeth Gaskell

Rating: Rating: 4.30 / 5
104 reviews

BED, BREAKFAST, and BONES: A Ravenwood Cove Cozy Mystery by Carolyn L. Dean

Amanda Graham inherited a rundown bed and breakfast, a starving cat, and some dead guy who’s buried in her garden! What should’ve been a simple remodeling project and a new business in a small Oregon beach town winds up with her uncle named as the number one murder suspect, a slew of odd neighbors and problematic townspeople, and Amanda wanting to just sit down and eat her weight in chocolate pie. Sure, she could pack her bags and travel back to LA…or should she dig in, heal from her failed romance, and find a whole new set of friends and adventures in Ravenwood Cove? And how could a quiet little coastal village have so many secrets?Includes the free recipe for Amanda’s (and the author’s) favorite cinnamon rolls. First novel in the Ravenwood Cove ebook series. Paperback and audiobook (with Whispersync) versions coming soon. Mild PG rating (because hey, there’s a dead guy in it).

Author: Carolyn L. Dean

Rating: Rating: 4.60 / 5
1248 reviews

Stone and Spark: Book 1 in the prequel Raleigh Harmon mysteries (The Raleigh Harmon prequel mystery series) by Sibella Giorello

Fifteen-year-old Raleigh Harmon finally conquers her worst fear—by trespassing—and can’t wait to tell her best friend, a smart-mouthed physics genius girl named Drew Levinson. 

Only Drew’s gone. Really gone. 

Everybody says Drew ran away. But that only skyrockets Raleigh’s suspicions. Drew Levinson is the least impulsive person she knows.

Armed with her rock hammer, an encyclopedic knowledge of city criminal codes, and a stubborn streak wide as the Chesapeake Bay, Raleigh scours her hometown for clues. But not even the cops are on her side. 

Was Drew meeting somebody in secret? Escaping her loony parents? 

Or is Raleigh’s hunch dead-on: her best friend didn’t choose to leave.

Stone and Spark is the first book in the Raleigh Harmon mystery series introducing the girl who will become a forensic geologist and FBI agent—provided she survives the high school years.

Author: Sibella Giorello

Rating: Rating: 4.70 / 5
112 reviews

Murder Of A Werewolf (A Brimstone Witch Mystery Book 1) by April Fernsby

A Paranormal Cozy MysteryBrimstone – a town where supernatural beings live – and where crime is on the increase.Just like her gran, Cassia Winter is a witch. The Winter witches are responsible for investigating crimes in Brimstone. The only problem is, Cassia doesn’t know she’s a witch yet.When Gran tells Cassia about her true nature, Cassia dismisses it as nonsense. But a terrible incident causes Cassia to change her mind. With her cat, Stanley, at her side, Cassia enters Brimstone and is soon investigating the murder of a werewolf.

Author: April Fernsby

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
157 reviews

What Hurts the Most: An engrossing, heart-stopping thriller (7th Street Crew Book 1) by Willow Rose

Engrossing mystery from an Amazon ALL-star Best-selling author.You will never guess the ending!Am I pretty? Imagine being asked that question standing face to face with a killer. What would you answer? While her life is going from bad to worse, journalist Mary Mills receives a phone call from her father telling her that her brother has been arrested for murder. Mary decides to go back to her hometown of Cocoa Beach, Florida, which she left twenty years back and has never visited since. Working with her old friends from the 7th Street Crew, she tracks down the most disturbing and surprising killer this town has ever faced before a shocking conclusion turns everything upside down for them. Determined to solve the murder and to have her brother acquitted, Mary is forced to face demons from her past she never thought she would have to again. ˃˃˃ What Hurts the Most is a chilling, fast-paced story of murder and revenge.It’s the first in Willow Rose’s new series about Mary Mills and her childhood friends from 7th Street. It is full of the twists and turns that Willow Rose is known and loved for by readers all over the world. Grab your copy today.

Author: Willow Rose

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
230 reviews

Peete and Repeat (The Frannie Shoemaker Campground Mysteries Book 3) by Karen Musser Nortman

An IndieBRAG Medallion Honoree. A biking and camping trip to southeastern Minnesota turns into double trouble for Frannie Shoemaker and her friends as she deals with a canoeing mishap and a couple of bodies. Strange happenings in the campground, the nearby nature learning center, and an old power plant complicate the suspect pool and Frannie tries to stay out of it–really–but what can she do? After all, she is only curious, but sometimes it isn’t just cats who have trouble with that!

Author: Karen Musser Nortman

Rating: Rating: 4.60 / 5
87 reviews

Rum Runner – A Thriller (Jacqueline "Jack" Daniels Mysteries Book 9) by J.A. Konrath

Twenty years ago, a young cop named Jacqueline “Jack” Daniels arrested one of the most sadistic killers she’d ever encountered. She has since retired from the Chicago Police Department in order to raise her toddler daughter.But old grudges never die. They fester until the right opportunity comes along.While on vacation in the Wisconsin north woods, Jack learns—too late—that her old adversary is out of prison. He has revenge on his mind. And he’s bringing an army with him.Outnumbered, outgunned, and cut off from the outside world, Jack Daniels is about to learn the meaning of last stand.This is the 9th Jack Daniels novel, after STIRRED. More than 1 million Jack Daniels novels have been sold worldwide.RUM RUNNER by JA KonrathThat which does not kill you, keeps trying…

Author: J.A. Konrath

Rating: Rating: 4.30 / 5
233 reviews

Operation Sunset: A Thriller by Leslie Wolfe

NUCLEAR TERRORISM THRILLER Private investigator Alex Hoffmann has a clear mission: to identify and eliminate the deadliest terrorist mastermind in history. She doesn’t know his name. She doesn’t know what he looks like. She only knows he’s Russian. The moment she learns more, it’s already too late. The timers are counting down. This Russian’s plan doesn’t target a building, a person, or a city. His plan is targeting the future of the United States and its entire people, for decades to come. She calls it the inconceivable scenario. Will she be able to stop him in time? Terrorism has a new dimension. We’re under an unprecedented attack. There’s nowhere to run.
Alex Hoffmann returns as the heroine of Operation Sunset. Putting her life on the line and risking it all to hunt down the man who is threatening everything she cares about, Alex is uncompromising and resourceful, taking readers on a breathtaking roller coaster ride in this gripping, engrossing nuclear terrorism thriller. Fans of Jack Ryan, Jason Bourne, James Bond, and Jack Reacher will love Alex Hoffmann. Praise for Leslie Wolfe — “Leslie Wolfe weaves a wonderful story of espionage, current technology, warfare.” – Lucas McWilliams — “Leslie Wolfe is proving that indeed women can equal if not surpass the established norm of espionage techno-thrillers.” – Grady Harp– “Wolfe keeps readers turning the pages…” – Kirkus Reviews — “Leslie Wolfe has the talent that is comparable to the likes of a Tom Clancy or a Michael Crichton, or even James Patterson.” – Dennis Waller Readers and Critics Talking About Alex Hoffman Series Book Four, The Ghost Pattern: — “Leslie Wolfe is now very much on my list of MUST READ AUTHORS and I can’t wait for the next book to be released” — “Characters you really can bond with and want to read more about. Too real and plausible not to keep you reading far too long after bed time!” — “Now this was a real smoker, really kept it moving, very well written. Guess I better find out if my wife is talking to me.” — “This is a kind of novel to be a hit with readers who really get into stories of the suspenseful and dramatic kind, especially that of politics and power.” — “As soon as I picked it up, I couldn’t put it down! Full of suspense and keeps you at the edge of your seat. I loved it!” — “Leslie Wolfe just gets better and better.” — “As a long-time fan of Tom Clancy’s early works and Dan Brown’s techno-thrillers, it makes me proud to see a woman stepping so confidently into this male-dominated arena. Well done, Leslie.”

Author: Leslie Wolfe

Rating: Rating: 4.80 / 5
200 reviews