Ghostly Paws (Mystic Notch Cozy Mystery Series Book 1) by Leighann Dobbs

*** USA Today Bestseller ***

Middle age can be murder …

At least that’s how it seems to former crime journalist, Wilhelmina Chance, whose near-fatal accident has given her a strange side effect … she sees ghosts.

After a messy divorce sends her fleeing back to her hometown of Mystic Notch, nestled in the White Mountains of New Hampshire, Willa finds herself haunted by the tenacious ghost of the town librarian who insists Willa solve her murder.

Luckily, she has lots of help, including a quirky cast of small-town characters, the cat she’s inherited from her grandmother, and her best friend, Pepper, who claims her herbal teas can work magic.

But just when Willa thinks she’s discovered who the killer is, she finds out that things are not what they seem in Mystic Notch, and the case takes a strange turn that has Willa adding even some of her long-time friends to her suspect list.

Can Willa find the real killer in time to keep the magical balance in Mystic Notch on the side of good, or will evil prevail?

Author: Leighann Dobbs

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
1340 reviews

Unbreakable Bonds: An Angela Panther Mystery Book Two (The Angela Panther Mystery Series 2) by Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

“Be careful what you wish for because karma has a way of biting you in the butt.” That’s what Angela Panther’s mother always said. And boy was she was right. When Angela first discovered her gift to gab with ghosts, she fought it tooth and nail. But the second she decided it wasn’t so bad, tragedy hit and the universe decided to teach her a lesson. Now she’s unable to chat with the other side and is crying out for a re-do. When her best friend Mel suspects her husband of cheating, she asks Angela to help her prove it. They concoct the perfect plan to get the goods on him, but to make it work they’ll need help from Angela’s mother, Fran. There’s just one tiny little problem–Fran’s dead. As the two best friends set out on a cheater-catching adventure, they hope Fran can use her celestial super powers to help, and prove that the bond between those who’ve crossed over with the ones they’ve left behind is never broken. In UNBREAKABLE BONDS, AN ANGELA PANTHER MYSTERY, AMAZON and Barnes & Noble bestselling author Carolyn Ridder Aspenson’s snarky dialog and hilarious banter between psychic medium Angela and her best friend Mel will leave you laughing in tears, and the touching scenes between the living dead will tug at your heart strings.

Author: Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

Rating: Rating: 4.70 / 5
113 reviews

Cabin by the Lake by Desiree Douglas

A bonfire is lit when Lydia Steadman moves to her aunt’s lake house in rural Georgia in need of a fresh start. There she meets humble, hunky backpacker, Mike Rodgers, seeking shelter from a storm. As lightning flashes, so does their chemistry. A man is the last thing Lydia needs in her life, but working alongside Mike to renovate an old guest cabin, she can’t help but wonder if they aren’t building something even more special.

In the shadows nearby, someone is watching–and waiting. When she realizes that her past has caught up to her, Lydia knows she has to leave to protect her aunt, and keep perfect Mike Rodgers from learning her history! Little does she know that Mr. Perfect has secrets of his own…

This is a clean and wholesome contemporary romantic suspense.

Author: Desiree Douglas

Rating: Rating: 4.60 / 5
150 reviews

The Witches of Dark Root (Daughters of Dark Root Book 1) by April Aasheim

Deep in the forests of Central Oregon is a town called Dark Root, a place shrouded in secrets, mystery, and witchcraft. But for Maggie Maddock, Dark Root is also a prison, a place where she is forced to spend her days working in her mother’s magick shop, forfeiting any dreams of her own as her mother prepares her to take over the family coven. So when a mysterious stranger suddenly appears and offers to take her away from it all, Maggie jumps at the chance.
Now, seven years later, a strange phone call sends Maggie home where she is unprepared for what awaits her: a town that’s lost its magic, a mother with an unexplained illness, a house buried in secrets, and a renewed sibling rivalry.
Will Maggie run again, or will she embrace her witchy roots to save all that she loves?

Part Practical Magic, part Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood, The Witches of Dark Root is a tale that seamlessly weaves the normal with the mystical, the mundane with the fantastic. Zipping in and out of time from Maggie’s childhood as an apprentice witch to current day, where Maggie struggles with her increasing powers as well as family obligations. The Witches of Dark Root is a book rich in fantasy, mystery, and heart which will leave readers believing in magic.

Author: April Aasheim

Rating: Rating: 4.30 / 5
420 reviews

Winter’s Law by Stephen Penner

From the author of the top-rated David Brunelle Legal Thriller Series…Talon Winter was one of the most feared civil litigators in the Pacific Northwest—until she was wrongfully terminated by her high-priced law firm for refusing to follow an unethical order. Forced to reinvent herself, Talon recalls the one time she truly enjoyed being a lawyer—defending a fellow tribal member accused of murder—and decides to strike out on her own as a criminal defense attorney.She’s also going to sue the pants off her old firm.But balancing her personal lawsuit with a fledgling law practice proves more difficult that Talon imagined. She has no choice but to take on the first client who walks in her door: Michael Jameson, a successful, forty-something, African American husband and father—who’s just been charged with a 25-year-old cold case murder, a gang-related drug deal gone horribly wrong.The one question Talon needs answered is the one question Michael refuses to answer: Did he do it?Michael insists it doesn’t matter. He’s not the same person he was twenty-five years ago. He’s built a new life in the intervening years, and nothing that happens now will bring the victim back. Instead, he poses a far more provocative question: Would the legal system reach back that far to take away everything built up by a successful White man?Talon must simultaneously battle her old law firm, a condescending prosecutor, reluctant witnesses, and even her own client to achieve that most elusive of goals: justice.

Author: Stephen Penner

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
163 reviews

Horns of the Devil: A Jeff Trask Legal Thriller (Jeff Trask crime drama series Book 2) by Marc Rainer

The beheaded body of an ambassador’s son is dumped on the curb in front of his father’s embassy just blocks from the White House. Federal prosecutor Jeff Trask and an FBI task force are called upon to solve the murder. Their search for the killers leads to the MS-13, a hyper-violent gang from El Salvador, but Trask and his team soon learn that someone else is also tracking their suspects, and with deadly efficiency. When Trask himself becomes a target, he realizes that he is caught in a cross-fire between two of the most ruthless organizations in the western hemisphere.

Author Marc Rainer brings more than three decades of investigative and prosecutorial experience to this follow-up to his hit novel “Capital Kill.” “Horns of the Devil” provides a view into one of the most deadly organized crime threats facing the United States today, and takes the reader on a gripping ride through murder investigations complicated by Washington politics and international intrigue.

Author: Marc Rainer

Rating: Rating: 4.50 / 5
194 reviews

Riptide: A Florida Panhandle Mystery (#2) by Michaela Thompson


As intricate as a fisherman’s net, Riptide fairly writhes with sinister delights—family secrets, family feuds, lost family fortunes, betrayals, puzzles, sunken treasure… and murder, of course. With a bit of illicit romance and treachery thrown in for seasoning. This rife atmosphere swirls around New york artist Isabel Anders, who’s summoned home to tiny St. Elmo, Florida to deal with an emergency: the aunt who raised her has been brutally—and mysteriously—injured.

Isabel arrives to find the family mansion in ruins, her aunt living in a trailer, and, dangerous as a cottonmouth, the lover she left at sixteen just where he used to be. Waiting for her. Except now he’s got a grudge against her, a secret of his own, and some unsavory companions. Just when Isabel’s aunt seems to be getting better (but before she’s able to talk again) she dies just as mysteriously as she was injured. Suspecting murder, Isabel quickly ties her aunt’s death to another.

But to find the killer, she has to hack her way through a small-town jungle of intrigue and several generations of interrelated secrets, producing hours of pulse-pounding delight for the confirmed puzzle fan.

WHO WILL LIKE IT: Fans of Laura Lippman, Kate Atkinson, intelligent cozies like those by G.M. Malliett, Elizabeth Zelvin, and Gillian Roberts, British puzzlemeisters like the great Dorothy L. Sayers herself, all BBC mysteries, and of course, Michaela Thompson’s own Hurricane Season.

Author: Michaela Thompson

Rating: Rating: 4.20 / 5
564 reviews