Leaving Lancaster: A Novel (Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy) by Kate Lloyd

Can a splintered Amish family reconcile? More than anything else, thirty-something Holly Fisher longs for family. Growing up in Seattle without a dad or grandparents, she wonders what it would be like to have a heritage, a place of belonging. Holly is furious when her mother, Esther, reveals a long-kept secret: Holly’s grandmother and uncles are still alive and begging Esther to return. And Holly is shocked when she learns that the family she’s never known lives on a Lancaster, Pennsylvania, farm—as part of an Amish community her mother once abandoned.Guilt-ridden Esther, terrified to see her mother and siblings, begs Holly to accompany her on a visit to Esther’s mother before she dies. But can their journey to a conflicting world heal their emotional wounds and finally bring them home?Set in the heart of contemporary Lancaster County, Leaving Lancaster explores the power of forgiveness, family reconciliation, and love where least expected.

Author: Kate Lloyd

Rating: Rating: 4.30 / 5
326 reviews

The Dirty Parts of the Bible — A Novel by Sam Torode

“Funny as Hell, with a Heart as Big as Texas”The Dirty Parts of the Bible is a humorous adventure across America during the Great Depression—a rollicking tale of love and liquor, preachers and prostitutes, trains and treasure, sure to appeal to fans of Water for Elephants, O Brother Where Art Thou?, Mark Twain, and Johnny Cash.Semifinalist for the Amazon Breakthrough Novel AwardPublishers Weekly says:”While the title suggests a raunchy read, this rich and soulful novel is actually a rather well-done bildungsroman [coming-of-age story] steeped in wanderlust and whimsy that at times recalls The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and at others a tamer On the Road. The story begins in 1936 as 19-year-old Tobias is thumbing his way from Remus, Mich., to his uncle’s farm in Glen Rose, Tex., to find a hidden bag of money, after his father, a Baptist pastor, drunkenly slams his car into the church and is removed from the parsonage. The author does an excellent job in making well-charted territory (riding the rails; scavenged campfire meals under the stars) seem vibrant and new. Snippets of scripture, Southern spirituals, and folk ballads lend context and flavor to the text. Most impressive are the jangly dialogue and the characters’ distinctive voices, which are authentic and earthy but not remotely hoary. When Tobias finally arrives at his uncle’s, the surprises that await him are more than enough to keep his–and readers’–interests piqued.” (Review from the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award)”The Dirty Parts of the Bible has it all … a plot that brings lots of laughs and a few tears, a writing style that is comfortable and matches the story, and characters that are pure joy.” –Front Street Reviews”The Dirty Parts of the Bible is a grown-up Mark Twain-type adventure with lots of spirit and humor.” –Reader Views”A fun read.” –The Nashville Scene

Author: Sam Torode

Rating: Rating: 4.30 / 5
1318 reviews

Love’s Providence: A Contemporary Christian Romance by Jennifer H. Westall

Collegiate athlete Lily Brennon has always been the piece that doesn’t quite fit in the puzzle, especially in her fragmented family, and no amount of rule-following perfection seems to bring her any closer to the love and acceptance she desperately seeks. If not for Jackson Carter, her childhood best friend and the only boy she’s ever loved, she’s sure she would have run away years ago. But when Jackson loses his father and a future basketball career within months of each other, his faith is so shattered, he shuts out everyone, including Lily. After months of heartache, Lily begins to piece together a life without Jackson, and while vacationing on a beautiful island off the Georgia coast, she begins a long-distance romance with Alex Walker, a police officer with a quick wit and a cocky grin. He revives her hope in love again, but their intense attraction and his devastating secret test Lily’s values, stretching them until they break. Through her struggles to remain true to her principles, an agonizing choice between Alex and Jackson, and a series of terrifying events that threaten all of them, Lily must endure losing everything she’s been grasping so tightly. Only then will she discover the depth of the love that already surrounds her.

Author: Jennifer H. Westall

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
51 reviews

Hearts in Defiance (Romance in the Rockies Book 2) by Heather Blanton

MEN MAKE MISTAKES. GOD WILL FORGIVE THEM. WILL THEIR WOMEN?
Charles McIntyre built the lawless, godless mining town of Defiance practically with his bare hands … and without any remorse for the lives he destroyed along the way. Then a glimpse of true love, both earthly and heavenly, changed him. The question is, how much? Naomi Miller is a beautiful, decent woman. She says she loves McIntyre, that God does, too, and the past is behind them now. But McIntyre struggles to believe he’s worth saving … worth loving. Unfortunately, the temptations in Defiance only reinforce his doubts.

Billy Page abandoned Hannah Frink when he discovered she was going to have his baby … and now he can’t live with himself. Or without her. Determined to prove his love, he leaves his family and fortune behind and journeys to Defiance. Will Hannah take Billy back or give him what he deserves for the betrayal?

On a mountain high in the Rockies, looking down the barrel of a gun, both men will come to some stunning conclusions.

~~ The sequel to the highly acclaimed, best-selling western romance A Lady in Defiance! ~~

Author: Heather Blanton

Rating: Rating: 4.80 / 5
174 reviews

Ruth’s Dilemma (The Zook Sisters of Lancaster County Book 1) by June Belfie

Life is complicated for Ruth Zook when her older sister, Emma, stakes her claim on Jeremiah Fisher, the man Ruth secretly loves. Ruth leaves her community to stay with an aunt in Philadelphia. Will she remain in the “English” world with all its conveniences and freedom, or will she return to her plain Amish life and settle for a marriage, perhaps one without love?

Author: June Belfie

Rating: Rating: 4.70 / 5
140 reviews

Don’t Wait For Me by Dan Kolbet

Edwin Klein’s iconic downtown toy store is hanging by a thread. The end is near, but he won’t accept it. The store is all he has left of his wife and he can’t let it go. Failure and loss have led him to a dark place.After a chance encounter with a shoplifter, he stumbles upon the help of Amelia Cook, who is struggling with her own loss. Through one holiday season the two of them hatch a plan to save the store and in turn touch the lives of everyone they know. What follows is a wonderful, but tragic tale of love, loss and new beginnings.

Author: Dan Kolbet

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
492 reviews

Chop, Chop (Chop, Chop Series Book 1) by L.N. Cronk and Barbie Halaby

Best Selling Contemporary Christian Fiction!Chop, Chop is an award-winning, coming-of-age novel dealing with everyday experiences that anyone can relate to, but culminating in one catastrophic event that no one would ever want to. A story of friendship, loss, and forgiveness, Chop, Chop is often tagged as a “Young Adult” novel (even though most readers are actually between the ages of 25 and 55 and the sequels are definitely geared toward that age group). Chop, Chop is a complete, stand-alone novel that will NOT leave you hanging, but the top-rated sequels are reasonably priced for those who want more.Synopsis: Ever since Laci was a little girl she’s been growing out her pretty, brown hair and chopping it off to send to Locks of Love. When Greg moves into town and finds out what she’s doing, he thinks it’s a great idea…so he starts doing it too! It’s just one of the things that reserved, young David must tolerate as their friendship grows throughout the years. As they near adulthood, they grow not only closer to each other, but closer to God as well. David finds himself content in every way, but when tragedy occurs David must struggle to find his way back to God.Winner of an Honorable Mention at the Blue Ridge Mountains Christian Writers Conference.

Author: L.N. Cronk and Barbie Halaby

Rating: Rating: 4.70 / 5
1136 reviews

The Color of Heaven (The Color of Heaven Series Book 1) by Julianne MacLean

“A box of tissues should be included in the purchase price of this book…. I finished THE COLOR OF HEAVEN in a matter of hours, but I’ve no doubt the read and the lessons imparted through Sophie’s story will stay with me… probably forever. THE COLOR OF HEAVEN is an incredibly poignant and unbelievably gripping novel, deserving Romance Junkies’ highest rating.” FIVE BLUE RIBBONS – Chris at Romance JunkiesA deeply emotional tale about Sophie Duncan, a successful columnist whose world falls apart after her daughter’s unexpected illness and her husband’s shocking affair. When it seems nothing else could possibly go wrong, her car skids off an icy road and plunges into a frozen lake. There, in the cold dark depths of the water, a profound and extraordinary experience unlocks the surprising secrets from Sophie’s past, and teaches her what it means to truly live…and love.Full of surprising twists and turns and a near-death experience that will leave you breathless, this story is not to be missed.THE COLOR OF HEAVEN is a work of fiction and was a USA Today bestseller.”A gripping, emotional tale you’ll want to read in one sitting.” – New York Times bestselling author, Julia London”Brilliantly poignant mainstream tale.” – 4 ½ starred review, Romantic TimesWatch for book 2 in this series: THE COLOR OF DESTINY – Available nowBook Three: THE COLOR OF HOPE – Available nowBook Four: THE COLOR OF DESTINY – Available March 1, 2014

Author: Julianne MacLean

Rating: Rating: 4.50 / 5
1765 reviews

When God Whispers Loudly (Terreldor Press Shorts Book 1) by Chris M. Hibbard

When God Whispers Loudly© Copyright 2011 Chris HibbardTerreldor Publishing–visit Terreldor.net[SHORT STORY] When God whispers, the wise listen. In this short story, a busy husband and father fails to heed the quiet voice of the Lord. In doing so, he experiences the loving admonition of God whispering loudly. 2750 words (~10 pgs), available without charge at Amazon ebook site.

Author: Chris M. Hibbard

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
2711 reviews

Daughter of Joy (Brides of Culdee Creek Book #1) by Kathleen Morgan

These classic historical romance novels are getting a new look for the next generation of readers. But the wonderful stories remain the same, as touching and fresh as they were when first published.Praise for the Brides of Culdee Creek series:"A poignant love story that will remain with the reader long after the book is closed."–Lori Copeland, author of the Brides of the West series"A beautiful story of redemptive love. . . . A memorable read."–Robin Lee Hatcher, author of Catching Katie"A spectacular new series."–Library JournalPraise for Kathleen Morgan:"Kathleen Morgan writes with deep emotion and feeling."–Reader to Reader"A marvelous storyteller."–Romantic Times"Kathleen Morgan is a phenomenal writer!"–The Talisman

Author: Kathleen Morgan

Rating: Rating: 4.50 / 5
2149 reviews