Unbreakable Bonds: An Angela Panther Mystery Book Two (The Angela Panther Mystery Series 2) by Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

“Be careful what you wish for because karma has a way of biting you in the butt.” That’s what Angela Panther’s mother always said. And boy was she was right. When Angela first discovered her gift to gab with ghosts, she fought it tooth and nail. But the second she decided it wasn’t so bad, tragedy hit and the universe decided to teach her a lesson. Now she’s unable to chat with the other side and is crying out for a re-do. When her best friend Mel suspects her husband of cheating, she asks Angela to help her prove it. They concoct the perfect plan to get the goods on him, but to make it work they’ll need help from Angela’s mother, Fran. There’s just one tiny little problem–Fran’s dead. As the two best friends set out on a cheater-catching adventure, they hope Fran can use her celestial super powers to help, and prove that the bond between those who’ve crossed over with the ones they’ve left behind is never broken. In UNBREAKABLE BONDS, AN ANGELA PANTHER MYSTERY, AMAZON and Barnes & Noble bestselling author Carolyn Ridder Aspenson’s snarky dialog and hilarious banter between psychic medium Angela and her best friend Mel will leave you laughing in tears, and the touching scenes between the living dead will tug at your heart strings.

Author: Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

Rating: Rating: 4.70 / 5
113 reviews

Cabin by the Lake by Desiree Douglas

A bonfire is lit when Lydia Steadman moves to her aunt’s lake house in rural Georgia in need of a fresh start. There she meets humble, hunky backpacker, Mike Rodgers, seeking shelter from a storm. As lightning flashes, so does their chemistry. A man is the last thing Lydia needs in her life, but working alongside Mike to renovate an old guest cabin, she can’t help but wonder if they aren’t building something even more special.

In the shadows nearby, someone is watching–and waiting. When she realizes that her past has caught up to her, Lydia knows she has to leave to protect her aunt, and keep perfect Mike Rodgers from learning her history! Little does she know that Mr. Perfect has secrets of his own…

This is a clean and wholesome contemporary romantic suspense.

Author: Desiree Douglas

Rating: Rating: 4.60 / 5
150 reviews

Mean Woman Blues: An Action-Packed New Orleans Thriller; Skip Langdon Mystery #9 (The Skip Langdon Series) by Julie Smith

Mean Woman Blues is the NINTH book in Edgar-winner Julie Smith’s Skip Langdon mystery series.

“Mean Woman Blues is Julie Smith at her most fun and lethal.” -The Clarion-Ledger

“One of the best police procedurals of the year.” –Midwest Book Review


That would be the Rev. Errol Jacomine, crazy as a fox that just ate a loon, and more dangerous than a cell full of serial killers. She’s Detective Skip Langdon, the New Orleans cop who’s twice smashed his criminal endeavors, yet each time he’s managed to slip away. Now he’s mad. In both senses of the word. And he has the connections to have her killed—or worse, those she loves.

After one near-miss and several nasty threats, Skip is driven by fear that she’ll lose the people dearest to her. Despite finding herself disgraced in her own home town (seems Jacomine knows how to frame as well as kill), she goes on the hunt for the kind of maniac with a gift for conning people and the extreme makeover to make it work.


But by now Jacomine’s madness has escalated to the point that he’s finally gone too far with too many people. Before it’s over, more than one person’s stalking him, and some are women feeling as mean as their quarry. If Langdon doesn’t get there first, there’ll be a bloodbath. If she does, only one person will walk away—and Jacomine’s as lucky as he’s ruthless.

“Smith combines a powerful heroine, creepily believable villain, and rich New Orleans setting.” -Booklist

Fans of Nevada Barr, Ace Atkins, Laura Lippman, and Karin Slaughter will love Detective Skip Langdon’s pluck and charm in this action-packed psychological thriller.

Nearly two years ago, Errol Jacomine had disappeared, but he would not stay gone. She knew this; she had destroyed two of his careers, twice thwarted his attempts to win control over his fellow human beings, to gain a following, and to dominate. He would be back, and he would try to kill her sooner rather than later. To forget it for a day in the woods, for an evening in her courtyard, for a moment, for a millisecond, was dangerous and possibly deadly.

Jacomine’s son, Daniel, had been arrested, charged with half a dozen crimes, and eventually convicted of murder as the result of one of Jacomine’s schemes. He was due to be sentenced in a couple of days.

How that would affect his father Skip couldn’t know, but it had probably precipitated the dream. Jacomine might not even notice, perhaps having written Daniel off. He could do this; he seemed sometimes to have no feelings.

On the other hand, he perceived himself to be at the center of the universe. He might feel proprietary toward Daniel, no matter how unlikely he was to have true paternal feelings. And if he did, he might… what?


Treat it as an occasion to make himself known. Trade an eye for an eye: kidnap Steve and demand Daniel.


That was what the dream was about.

She left for work feeling hunted and resentful of her psyche for rubbing her nose in it. She knew all that, and what could she do about it? Exactly what? she asked herself angrily. Later, the dream seemed more a premonition than a warning.

* * *

That morning, as always, she walked the few blocks to the garage where she kept her car, pointed the remote at the automatic door (a process that never failed to give her childlike pleasure), and waited for the door to raise itself high enough to allow her ingress. Instead of the familiar rumble, an explosion ripped through the quiet morning, followed by a loud ping, like a beer can hitting a metal drum.

She was aware of an arm around her waist, another at her back, and then she felt herself falling, a great weight upon her. She tried to fight it, but it was too heavy. She was helpless. Her head h

Author: Julie Smith

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
223 reviews

The Witches of Dark Root (Daughters of Dark Root Book 1) by April Aasheim

Deep in the forests of Central Oregon is a town called Dark Root, a place shrouded in secrets, mystery, and witchcraft. But for Maggie Maddock, Dark Root is also a prison, a place where she is forced to spend her days working in her mother’s magick shop, forfeiting any dreams of her own as her mother prepares her to take over the family coven. So when a mysterious stranger suddenly appears and offers to take her away from it all, Maggie jumps at the chance.
Now, seven years later, a strange phone call sends Maggie home where she is unprepared for what awaits her: a town that’s lost its magic, a mother with an unexplained illness, a house buried in secrets, and a renewed sibling rivalry.
Will Maggie run again, or will she embrace her witchy roots to save all that she loves?

Part Practical Magic, part Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood, The Witches of Dark Root is a tale that seamlessly weaves the normal with the mystical, the mundane with the fantastic. Zipping in and out of time from Maggie’s childhood as an apprentice witch to current day, where Maggie struggles with her increasing powers as well as family obligations. The Witches of Dark Root is a book rich in fantasy, mystery, and heart which will leave readers believing in magic.

Author: April Aasheim

Rating: Rating: 4.30 / 5
420 reviews

Winter’s Law by Stephen Penner

From the author of the top-rated David Brunelle Legal Thriller Series…Talon Winter was one of the most feared civil litigators in the Pacific Northwest—until she was wrongfully terminated by her high-priced law firm for refusing to follow an unethical order. Forced to reinvent herself, Talon recalls the one time she truly enjoyed being a lawyer—defending a fellow tribal member accused of murder—and decides to strike out on her own as a criminal defense attorney.She’s also going to sue the pants off her old firm.But balancing her personal lawsuit with a fledgling law practice proves more difficult that Talon imagined. She has no choice but to take on the first client who walks in her door: Michael Jameson, a successful, forty-something, African American husband and father—who’s just been charged with a 25-year-old cold case murder, a gang-related drug deal gone horribly wrong.The one question Talon needs answered is the one question Michael refuses to answer: Did he do it?Michael insists it doesn’t matter. He’s not the same person he was twenty-five years ago. He’s built a new life in the intervening years, and nothing that happens now will bring the victim back. Instead, he poses a far more provocative question: Would the legal system reach back that far to take away everything built up by a successful White man?Talon must simultaneously battle her old law firm, a condescending prosecutor, reluctant witnesses, and even her own client to achieve that most elusive of goals: justice.

Author: Stephen Penner

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
163 reviews

Horns of the Devil: A Jeff Trask Legal Thriller (Jeff Trask crime drama series Book 2) by Marc Rainer

The beheaded body of an ambassador’s son is dumped on the curb in front of his father’s embassy just blocks from the White House. Federal prosecutor Jeff Trask and an FBI task force are called upon to solve the murder. Their search for the killers leads to the MS-13, a hyper-violent gang from El Salvador, but Trask and his team soon learn that someone else is also tracking their suspects, and with deadly efficiency. When Trask himself becomes a target, he realizes that he is caught in a cross-fire between two of the most ruthless organizations in the western hemisphere.

Author Marc Rainer brings more than three decades of investigative and prosecutorial experience to this follow-up to his hit novel “Capital Kill.” “Horns of the Devil” provides a view into one of the most deadly organized crime threats facing the United States today, and takes the reader on a gripping ride through murder investigations complicated by Washington politics and international intrigue.

Author: Marc Rainer

Rating: Rating: 4.50 / 5
194 reviews

Riptide: A Florida Panhandle Mystery (#2) by Michaela Thompson


As intricate as a fisherman’s net, Riptide fairly writhes with sinister delights—family secrets, family feuds, lost family fortunes, betrayals, puzzles, sunken treasure… and murder, of course. With a bit of illicit romance and treachery thrown in for seasoning. This rife atmosphere swirls around New york artist Isabel Anders, who’s summoned home to tiny St. Elmo, Florida to deal with an emergency: the aunt who raised her has been brutally—and mysteriously—injured.

Isabel arrives to find the family mansion in ruins, her aunt living in a trailer, and, dangerous as a cottonmouth, the lover she left at sixteen just where he used to be. Waiting for her. Except now he’s got a grudge against her, a secret of his own, and some unsavory companions. Just when Isabel’s aunt seems to be getting better (but before she’s able to talk again) she dies just as mysteriously as she was injured. Suspecting murder, Isabel quickly ties her aunt’s death to another.

But to find the killer, she has to hack her way through a small-town jungle of intrigue and several generations of interrelated secrets, producing hours of pulse-pounding delight for the confirmed puzzle fan.

WHO WILL LIKE IT: Fans of Laura Lippman, Kate Atkinson, intelligent cozies like those by G.M. Malliett, Elizabeth Zelvin, and Gillian Roberts, British puzzlemeisters like the great Dorothy L. Sayers herself, all BBC mysteries, and of course, Michaela Thompson’s own Hurricane Season.

Author: Michaela Thompson

Rating: Rating: 4.20 / 5
564 reviews