Rainy Nights: Four Novels by J.R. Rain

Three bestselling novels together in one omnibus, including:

Mother, wife, private investigator…vampire. Six years ago federal agent Samantha Moon was the perfect wife and mother, your typical soccer mom with the minivan and suburban home. Then the unthinkable happens, an attack that changes her life forever. And forever is a very long time for a vampire. Now the world at large thinks Samantha has developed a rare skin disease, a disease which forces her to quit her day job and stay out of the light of the sun. Now working the night shift as a private investigator, Samantha is hired by Kingsley Fulcrum to investigate the murder attempt on his life, a horrific scene captured on TV and seen around the country. But as the case unfolds, Samantha discovers Kingsley isn’t exactly what he appears to be; after all, there is a reason why he survived five shots to the head.

Dark Horse takes place in Huntington Beach, California. Surf City, USA. Written in the tradition of Robert B. Parker’s Spenser and Raymond Chandler’s Philip Marlowe, Dark Horse introduces a new hard-hitting, wise-cracking hero with a modern twist. When high school student Derrick Booker, the only black student at a posh Orange County high school, is accused of killing his white girlfriend, ex-college football hero and detective Jim Knighthorse is hired to dig a little deeper into the murder. It doesn’t take long for Knighthorse to realize that not all is as it seems at tranquil Huntington High, from a band director who preys on the innocent to a vice-principal with a secret agenda of her own. Not to mention someone’s hired a professional killer to keep Knighthorse permanently off the case.

Three years ago, high school student Veronica Fortune witnessed the brutal murder of her parents. Now armed and dangerous, she sets out to hunt down the very thing that destroyed her life. That is, until she disappears. Spinoza is a private investigator who specializes in finding the missing. He’s good at what he does. Damn good. But he’s also a recovering alcoholic and a royal mess. Hired to find Veronica, Spinoza won’t let his personal demonsor demons of any kindget in the way of finding the truth about the missing girl. Now following a bizarre set of clues that leads him into stranger and stranger territory, Spinoza is about to come face-to-face with something legendary…and something hungry for blood.

(Includes a clickable Table of Contents.)

**Acclaim for the Novels of J.R. Rain**

“Gripping, adventurous, and romanticJ.R. Rain’s The Lost Ark is a breakneck thriller that traces the thread of history from Biblical stories to current-day headlines. Be prepared to lose sleep!”
JAMES ROLLINS, international bestselling author of The Doomsday Key and Altar of Eden

“I love this!”
PIERS ANTHONY, bestselling author of Xanth on J.R. Rain’s Moon Dance

“Dark Horse is the best book I’ve read in a long time!”
GEMMA HALLIDAY, award-winning author of Spying in High Heels

Author: J.R. Rain

Rating: Rating: 4.10 / 5
267 reviews

Ghostly Paws (Mystic Notch Cozy Mystery Series Book 1) by Leighann Dobbs

*** USA Today Bestseller ***

Middle age can be murder …

At least that’s how it seems to former crime journalist, Wilhelmina Chance, whose near-fatal accident has given her a strange side effect … she sees ghosts.

After a messy divorce sends her fleeing back to her hometown of Mystic Notch, nestled in the White Mountains of New Hampshire, Willa finds herself haunted by the tenacious ghost of the town librarian who insists Willa solve her murder.

Luckily, she has lots of help, including a quirky cast of small-town characters, the cat she’s inherited from her grandmother, and her best friend, Pepper, who claims her herbal teas can work magic.

But just when Willa thinks she’s discovered who the killer is, she finds out that things are not what they seem in Mystic Notch, and the case takes a strange turn that has Willa adding even some of her long-time friends to her suspect list.

Can Willa find the real killer in time to keep the magical balance in Mystic Notch on the side of good, or will evil prevail?

Author: Leighann Dobbs

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
1340 reviews

Unbreakable Bonds: An Angela Panther Mystery Book Two (The Angela Panther Mystery Series 2) by Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

“Be careful what you wish for because karma has a way of biting you in the butt.” That’s what Angela Panther’s mother always said. And boy was she was right. When Angela first discovered her gift to gab with ghosts, she fought it tooth and nail. But the second she decided it wasn’t so bad, tragedy hit and the universe decided to teach her a lesson. Now she’s unable to chat with the other side and is crying out for a re-do. When her best friend Mel suspects her husband of cheating, she asks Angela to help her prove it. They concoct the perfect plan to get the goods on him, but to make it work they’ll need help from Angela’s mother, Fran. There’s just one tiny little problem–Fran’s dead. As the two best friends set out on a cheater-catching adventure, they hope Fran can use her celestial super powers to help, and prove that the bond between those who’ve crossed over with the ones they’ve left behind is never broken. In UNBREAKABLE BONDS, AN ANGELA PANTHER MYSTERY, AMAZON and Barnes & Noble bestselling author Carolyn Ridder Aspenson’s snarky dialog and hilarious banter between psychic medium Angela and her best friend Mel will leave you laughing in tears, and the touching scenes between the living dead will tug at your heart strings.

Author: Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

Rating: Rating: 4.70 / 5
113 reviews

Cabin by the Lake by Desiree Douglas

A bonfire is lit when Lydia Steadman moves to her aunt’s lake house in rural Georgia in need of a fresh start. There she meets humble, hunky backpacker, Mike Rodgers, seeking shelter from a storm. As lightning flashes, so does their chemistry. A man is the last thing Lydia needs in her life, but working alongside Mike to renovate an old guest cabin, she can’t help but wonder if they aren’t building something even more special.

In the shadows nearby, someone is watching–and waiting. When she realizes that her past has caught up to her, Lydia knows she has to leave to protect her aunt, and keep perfect Mike Rodgers from learning her history! Little does she know that Mr. Perfect has secrets of his own…

This is a clean and wholesome contemporary romantic suspense.

Author: Desiree Douglas

Rating: Rating: 4.60 / 5
150 reviews

Mean Woman Blues: An Action-Packed New Orleans Thriller; Skip Langdon Mystery #9 (The Skip Langdon Series) by Julie Smith

Mean Woman Blues is the NINTH book in Edgar-winner Julie Smith’s Skip Langdon mystery series.

“Mean Woman Blues is Julie Smith at her most fun and lethal.” -The Clarion-Ledger

“One of the best police procedurals of the year.” –Midwest Book Review


That would be the Rev. Errol Jacomine, crazy as a fox that just ate a loon, and more dangerous than a cell full of serial killers. She’s Detective Skip Langdon, the New Orleans cop who’s twice smashed his criminal endeavors, yet each time he’s managed to slip away. Now he’s mad. In both senses of the word. And he has the connections to have her killed—or worse, those she loves.

After one near-miss and several nasty threats, Skip is driven by fear that she’ll lose the people dearest to her. Despite finding herself disgraced in her own home town (seems Jacomine knows how to frame as well as kill), she goes on the hunt for the kind of maniac with a gift for conning people and the extreme makeover to make it work.


But by now Jacomine’s madness has escalated to the point that he’s finally gone too far with too many people. Before it’s over, more than one person’s stalking him, and some are women feeling as mean as their quarry. If Langdon doesn’t get there first, there’ll be a bloodbath. If she does, only one person will walk away—and Jacomine’s as lucky as he’s ruthless.

“Smith combines a powerful heroine, creepily believable villain, and rich New Orleans setting.” -Booklist

Fans of Nevada Barr, Ace Atkins, Laura Lippman, and Karin Slaughter will love Detective Skip Langdon’s pluck and charm in this action-packed psychological thriller.

Nearly two years ago, Errol Jacomine had disappeared, but he would not stay gone. She knew this; she had destroyed two of his careers, twice thwarted his attempts to win control over his fellow human beings, to gain a following, and to dominate. He would be back, and he would try to kill her sooner rather than later. To forget it for a day in the woods, for an evening in her courtyard, for a moment, for a millisecond, was dangerous and possibly deadly.

Jacomine’s son, Daniel, had been arrested, charged with half a dozen crimes, and eventually convicted of murder as the result of one of Jacomine’s schemes. He was due to be sentenced in a couple of days.

How that would affect his father Skip couldn’t know, but it had probably precipitated the dream. Jacomine might not even notice, perhaps having written Daniel off. He could do this; he seemed sometimes to have no feelings.

On the other hand, he perceived himself to be at the center of the universe. He might feel proprietary toward Daniel, no matter how unlikely he was to have true paternal feelings. And if he did, he might… what?


Treat it as an occasion to make himself known. Trade an eye for an eye: kidnap Steve and demand Daniel.


That was what the dream was about.

She left for work feeling hunted and resentful of her psyche for rubbing her nose in it. She knew all that, and what could she do about it? Exactly what? she asked herself angrily. Later, the dream seemed more a premonition than a warning.

* * *

That morning, as always, she walked the few blocks to the garage where she kept her car, pointed the remote at the automatic door (a process that never failed to give her childlike pleasure), and waited for the door to raise itself high enough to allow her ingress. Instead of the familiar rumble, an explosion ripped through the quiet morning, followed by a loud ping, like a beer can hitting a metal drum.

She was aware of an arm around her waist, another at her back, and then she felt herself falling, a great weight upon her. She tried to fight it, but it was too heavy. She was helpless. Her head h

Author: Julie Smith

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
223 reviews

The Witches of Dark Root (Daughters of Dark Root Book 1) by April Aasheim

Deep in the forests of Central Oregon is a town called Dark Root, a place shrouded in secrets, mystery, and witchcraft. But for Maggie Maddock, Dark Root is also a prison, a place where she is forced to spend her days working in her mother’s magick shop, forfeiting any dreams of her own as her mother prepares her to take over the family coven. So when a mysterious stranger suddenly appears and offers to take her away from it all, Maggie jumps at the chance.
Now, seven years later, a strange phone call sends Maggie home where she is unprepared for what awaits her: a town that’s lost its magic, a mother with an unexplained illness, a house buried in secrets, and a renewed sibling rivalry.
Will Maggie run again, or will she embrace her witchy roots to save all that she loves?

Part Practical Magic, part Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood, The Witches of Dark Root is a tale that seamlessly weaves the normal with the mystical, the mundane with the fantastic. Zipping in and out of time from Maggie’s childhood as an apprentice witch to current day, where Maggie struggles with her increasing powers as well as family obligations. The Witches of Dark Root is a book rich in fantasy, mystery, and heart which will leave readers believing in magic.

Author: April Aasheim

Rating: Rating: 4.30 / 5
420 reviews