Life of Noah (The Bible for Aliens Book 2) by Adrian Pelzer

What were familiar Bible characters like before they became known for doing epic deeds and having epically long, white beards? In this second volume of The Bible for Aliens, you can imagine that, had their day been somewhat like ours, Noah might have played a computer game called “Boatcraft,” that Jacob could have been on the school wrestling team, and that Abraham may have fallen afoul of social services. Characters in the Bible were just like many of us—flawed but hungering for purpose, having faith in God but not always going about things in conventional ways. Welcome, aliens, to Volume 2, with more to follow!

Author: Adrian Pelzer

Rating: Rating: 5.00 / 5
5 reviews

God’s Crazy Parlour of Sweet Consent by Dean Moriarty

“Come look through this window to see what isn’t there where we have dates that simmer in the sun and we have barracuda timing and ideograms in the points of rust to shake your gates as you yawn,” said the Sultan selling dates.

Author: Dean Moriarty

Rating: Rating: 5.00 / 5
5 reviews

The Screen Savers by Bryan Romaine

The Screen Savers is a quirky, bittersweet comedy novel laced with mystery, satire and offbeat romance.Adam, who aspires to be alone, loves watching non-mainstream films at his local cinema – films that, thankfully, few people want to see. But when the cinema decides to stop showing these films, he must do the unthinkable: make more friends. At the very least he must work with others intent on keeping these screenings going: first, a mysterious woman who knows everything about him, then a group of misfits who are suspiciously similar to his old friends. Together they form The Screen Savers.Most of the films Adam watches are about how to gain friends – about how to get over your flaws and integrate back into society. But what do you do if you’ve got too many friends and they’re all irritating? How do you create a life doing what you want to do rather than going along with the duty that friendship entails?Amazon (UK)/Goodreads Reviews:“Very Funny”“Extraordinarily comedic moments”“If you like surreal humour like The IT Crowd, then I heartily recommend this book.” “This is a very funny novel and I guffawed many times while reading this.” “I really didn’t want to put it down”For fans of Magnus Mills, Matt Haig and Nick Hornby as well as offbeat sitcoms like The IT Crowd, Black Books, Seinfeld, The Mighty Boosh, The League of Gentlemen, and more.If you like offbeat comedy, take a “Look Inside”!

Author: Bryan Romaine

Rating: Rating: 5.00 / 5
5 reviews

One More Page: A Fiction Sampler with Bonus Writing Advice from 17 Successful Novelists by Marilyn Brant

With the unbeatable combination of both compelling fiction and great insight on the writer’s journey, these award-winning and bestselling authors of the Girlfriends Book Club join together to bring you ONE MORE PAGE!

Enjoy 17 excerpts of outstanding fiction by authors Christa Allan (All They Want for Christmas), Judith Arnold (Changes), Marilyn Brant (The Road to You), Sylvie Fox (The Good Enough Husband), Jenny Gardiner (Something in the Heir), Maria Geraci (That Thing You Do), Tonya Kappes (Checkered Crime), Leslie Langtry (Merit Badge Murder), Leslie Lehr (Wife Goes On), Maggie Marr (One Night for Love), Ellen Meister (Dorothy Parker Drank Here), Ellyn Oaksmith (50 Acts of Kindness), Jess Riley (Mandatory Release), Saralee Rosenberg (Dear Neighbor, Drop Dead), Sara Rosett (Elusive), Wendy Tokunaga (His Wife and Daughters), and L.J. Wilson (Ruby Ink).

Also included in this book as a *special bonus* are 34 of the GBC’s most popular blog posts on the subject of writing craft and the writing life, which you won’t want to miss. So pick up this sampler, sit back, and get drawn into a wonderful world of unputdownable essays & stories!

Author: Marilyn Brant

Rating: Rating: 5.00 / 5
5 reviews

Touched by Fire: Life lived on the fringes of violence and mayhem by J Mark jackson

“In our youth, our hearts were touched by fire…”- Oliver Wendell Holmes
My life has a fine patina of violence. I grew up in a middle-class, loving home. I feared God, I guess, went to church and played Little League baseball. I earned a full-scholarship to college, possess a Master’s Degree and provide for a family. I am learning to play the violin. So how do I square the first sentence of this paragraph with this ordinary life in Elysian Fields? I’m not trying to impress with my bona fides; they are not that unique or enthralling. What should be intriguing is the violence and mayhem that underlies it all.
So begins Touched by Fire. The 1960s and 1970s were a turbulent time to grow up; racial tensions, Vietnam, Kent State, Watergate and leisure suits. The world remembers the sinister news stories and the nefarious sound bites. But what of the people who were reared during these decades and bathed in the vitriol of the era? We were the children at the middle and end of the Baby Boom Generation. Our parents and grandparents were the byproducts of the Great Depression and World War II. They have been called “The Greatest Generation” by Tom Brokaw in his book of the same name. What did this make us, the children of the 1960s and 1970s? We were touched by fire.
Mostly, the children of these two decades were oblivious to the world around them. There was a vague understanding of national and international events and nothing more. The late Baby Boomers grew up with fun, love and excitement just as any generation. But it grew up much more rough, robust, gritty and violent. Outlining and chronicling the violence, mayhem and chaos that were part of the 60s and 70s but are lacking in the last two generations is the purpose of Touched by Fire. The book takes a humorous tack when considering the much more earthy culture and lifestyle previous generations found as normal but current generations consider abhorrent and primitively quaint.
Surely reminisces among friend who grew up in the target era is an objective. Sharing reminisces with children and relatives go in tandem with the objective above. But making an irreverent statement, with a strong sense of the absurd, about the generations of the 60s and 70s to the generations soon to rule our world is the major goal. This irreverent statement should help them understand how their parents were reared and why. And perhaps elicit mirth and laughter. Plus, the book begs the question: Are all the cultural advancements actual improvements? Are children smarter, more independent and resilient over the past 25 years than they were the previous 100 years? Have we as a culture and society forfeited some of the characteristic American robustness in route to a gentler, less volatile existence? These questions are raised within the chapters of Touched by Fire. This author does not profess to hold the answers, but deems considering the proposition that a little violence and mayhem is not always a bad thing, taken in proper measure. The table of content and chapter summary will provide insights on how the book attempts to couch these questions. Truly, in our youth, our hearts were touched by fire…and dirt clods, fists, baseballs, lawn darts and many other dastardly implements. Yet we survived, grew and some thrived.

Author: J Mark jackson

Rating: Rating: 5.00 / 5
5 reviews

The Faking of the President: With a touch of makeup, even you, a meth smoking punk on the streets can grow up to be a political superstar by Doug Goudsward

THE FAKING OF THE PRESIDENT

With a touch of makeup, even you, a meth smoking punk on the streets can grow up to be a political superstar.

The first ever complete campaign playbook as compiled by an “actual” Beltway Insider.

In this easy to read guide, Doug Goudsward lays out the simple steps that will enable you, the reader (and presumably a lazy slacker at that) to get elected President of the United States of America. Every election cycle, too many people ask, “Why bother to vote, there are no good choices?” or “How come no honest and talented people ever run for office?” Well the answer is really quite simple: the average American citizen just has no idea how to go about launching an effective presidential campaign. With this book, Goudsward takes away all excuses.

Presented in the form of a Campaign Playbook, this no holds barred political farce mercilessly lampoons the three ring circus and media feeding frenzy that our modern presidential elections have degenerated into. Each chapter is filled with seemingly outrageous tips on how to dress, speak, or act like the future president, yet the sobering truth is that real life candidates may actually find this to be a useful primer for managing their own campaigns.

Skewering both the left and the right Goudsward takes no sides, but instead reaches across the aisle to connect with the disgruntled majority! … And since most politicians have neither the time nor the inclination to actually read, every major talking point in the book is hilariously illustrated with Doug’s original cartoons that will leave you laughing all the way to the polls.

Author: Doug Goudsward

Rating: Rating: 5.00 / 5
5 reviews

The Hack List by Daniel Amspaugh

Sebastian is a typical waiter. Everyone in the service industry hits a breaking point with customers whose demands are unrealistic. The customer has been given the delusion that he or she is always right.

After being confronted for the last time, and with the help of a mysterious therapist, Sebastian puts into motion a plan to murder his worst customers. Meanwhile, the restaurant has become home to a large colony of cockroaches. They need customers to survive. Can they stop him before it’s too late? Or will they succumb to extermination brought forth by the elusive Mr. X?

Author: Daniel Amspaugh

Rating: Rating: 5.00 / 5
5 reviews

The Crazy Blog Book by Jan Glaz

Short and Sweet. Wild and crazy. The unfriendly truth. A book of humorous crazy but superior Blog Posts. A must read, anti-depressant. Try it you will like it. At the end of the Crazy Blog Book are Money Saving Deals,TWO MAKEOVER MACHINES AND GENERAL EVERYONE ITEMS!

Author: Jan Glaz

Rating: Rating: 5.00 / 5
5 reviews

KITTY PALS by Anne Elizabeth Nixon

Short book for little children—photo / story. Skooter is a most delightful fellow! And his adopted kitty brother, Bandit, is his straight man. Great fun for all ages! Very young children will discover this book is ideal for sitting on grandma’s and grandpa’s lap, and for learning to read. For our many little “nerds” it’s perfect for i-phones and other social media. (Apps available at time of buying for those who don’t have Kindle) Good for love and laughs between the disabled and animals.

Author: Anne Elizabeth Nixon

Rating: Rating: 5.00 / 5
5 reviews