The Unhappy Medium: A Supernatural Comedy. Book 1 by T. J. Brown

About The Unhappy Medium

When even the laws of physics let you down, the absurd, the ludicrous and the frankly impossible may be all you have left.

Dr Newton Barlow has everything a theoretical physicist could ask for – a glittering career both in the lab and on television, a beautiful wife, and best of all, the opportunity to promote his rock-solid certainty that supernatural and religious beliefs are nothing but complete and utter hokum.

But Barlow is about to take a tumble. Mired in accusations of fraud, incompetence and malpractice, Newton is cast out from the scientific establishment and ejected from the family home. With his life in tatters, he descends into a wine-sodden wilderness.

Then, after three lost years, Barlow is suddenly approached by his old mentor and fellow sceptic Dr Sixsmith with an extraordinary proposition, an offer that Newton simply cannot refuse. There’s just one small problem:

Dr Sixsmith is dead.

Thrown headlong into a new reality that simply shouldn’t exist, Dr Newton Barlow is about to come up against the best and the worst of human nature: tooled-up vicars, paper-pushing ancient Greeks, sinister property developers, a saucy rubber nun and possibly the most mean-spirited man ever to have walked the earth (twice).

From the dusty plains of Spain to the leafy vicarages of Hampshire, Dr Barlow will have to contradict everything he ever believed in if he wants to save this world – and the next.

Author: T. J. Brown

Rating: Rating: 4.20 / 5
357 reviews

Penniless Hearts (Lost Compass Love Book 1) by Eve Gaal

It’s almost Christmas, and Penny is not at her desk. Feeling as if she’s taken for granted by everyone in her life, Penny itches for adventure and the unknown. Enter Captain Dan Losegg.On a whim, Penny abandons all responsibilities and dashes off to Hawaii with the charming pilot. But before she can say Aloha, trouble is brewing faster than Kona coffee, and Penny finds herself caught up in misadventures and misunderstandings.Full of surprises and unexpected twists, Penniless Hearts is a delightful and romantic comedy of errors.

Author: Eve Gaal

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
61 reviews

Escape Clause: Murder Off-Screen Cozy Series Book 2 by GA VanDruff

Oscar night.

Jaqie Shanahan’s roommate and best friend, Jeep McBain, wins the statue for best screenplay. And disappears.

Murdered? An accident? Fear of success? Whatever the reason, her fun-loving, womanizing, self-centered Jeep McBain vanishes without a trace—without even a good-bye.

One year later, Jaqie has a successful screenplay of her own, and finds a new best friend in Madrille Keiser, Hollywood’s biggest star. But without Jeep to share in her success, Jaqie realizes it’s time to take a break. Time to come to grips with the hard truth that Jeep is forever gone.

Turns out, she’s only half-right.

Jaqie, her dog, and her gecko sail away for a working vacation in the Caribbean. She and her little tribe anchor offshore and decide it’s a great day to take the dinghy and do some old-fashioned beachcombing for seashells—like the pictures in the brochure.

What they find is a dead guy in a great suit bobbing just shy of high tide, and a sort-of-dead guy in baggy shorts and a Hawaiian shirt chasing seagulls off the body.

Jeep McBain may not be alive and well in Puerto Rico, but his ghost is.

And he’s engaged.

“Jaqie, her name is Clarice. She’s real. Like me, real. We’re going to spend the rest of whatever this is,” he outlined his transparent torso, “together. We like all the same things. Plus, we were both bludgeoned to death. How great is that?”

But, first …

Jaqie must find out who murdered Jeep and the love of his afterlife so the happy couple can Move On.

Provided …

Jaqie can convince the chief of police that she did not kill Jeep. That she can keep the killers from killing her. That she can get the job done without Madrille’s head of security, Paul Bracken, getting in her way and under her skin. Constantly. Paul with the sea-green eyes and hair that is way too long and far too unruly for former military.

None of which is listed in the brochure about seashells.

Author: GA VanDruff

Rating: Rating: 4.50 / 5
62 reviews

Witch at Heart (A Jinx Hamilton Mystery Book 1) by Juliette Harper

Jinx Hamilton has been minding her own business working as a waitress at Tom’s Cafe and keeping up with her four cats. Then she inherits her Aunt Fiona’s store in neighboring Briar Hollow, North Carolina and learns that her aunt has willed her some special “powers” as well. They say admitting you have a problem is the first step and Jinx has a major problem. She’s a brand new witch with no earthly clue what that means. Throw in a few homeless ghosts, a potential serial killer, and a resident rat and Jinx is almost at her wit’s end. Thankfully she has the unfailing support of her life-long BFF, Tori and it doesn’t hurt that there’s a hot guy living right next door.

Author: Juliette Harper

Rating: Rating: 4.70 / 5
411 reviews

10 Dates: A fun and sexy romantic comedy novel by Emily James

Joanie Fox can’t wait to settle down and marry the man of her dreams. However, when her engagement starts to look more stalemate than soulmate, her best friend stages an intervention sure to make even the most hardened, serial daters wince: 10 Dates in 10 Days. Statistically, if you kiss a lot of frogs there’s bound to be at least one that’s not a complete toad, isn’t there? With nothing to lose, Joanie embarks on a crazy rollercoaster of blind dates. After all, what can possibly go wrong in the search for Mr. Right? 10 Dates is a standalone, sexy, laugh out loud romantic comedy with a happy ending. It is not for the feint hearted and is best suited for readers over the age of eighteen due to sexual themes and mature content.Amazon USA reviewers are calling 10 Dates:5 STARS “Funny! If you like Bridget Jones, you’ll love this!”5 STARS “Awesome characters, perfect beach read.”5 STARS “Love this Rom-Com!”5 STARS “Brilliantly Entertaining.”

Author: Emily James

Rating: Rating: 4.60 / 5
180 reviews

Summer at Sea: The Summer Series Book 1 by Beth Labonte

Four jackets of varying weights, enough socks for the entire Confederate Army, three umbrellas, most of the antacid aisle from the local pharmacy, and six pairs of old people sneakers that all look exactly the same.

Have you ever helped your parents pack for a weeklong cruise?

No? I didn’t think so. So shut it.

So begins vacation for Summer Hartwell – twenty-six years old, living with her anxiety-ridden parents, and unwillingly booked by her brother on a weeklong cruise to Bermuda. Despite the nightmare of being trapped aboard a cruise ship with Mom and Dad, Summer sees a rare opportunity to fulfill The Prophecy – her mother’s declaration that she will live at home until she gets married. With two thousand passengers onboard, at least one of them must be husband material, right?

The only problem is Graham Blenderman – her brother’s best friend who is joining them for the week, in all of his tall, blonde, extroverted glory. Graham doesn’t believe Summer needs a husband in order to break free from her parents. He thinks she just needs a little bit of nerve. And to Summer’s introverted horror, he’s willing to spend the entire week proving that he’s right.

Author: Beth Labonte

Rating: Rating: 4.30 / 5
431 reviews

The Dirty Parts of the Bible — A Novel by Sam Torode

“Funny as Hell, with a Heart as Big as Texas”The Dirty Parts of the Bible is a humorous adventure across America during the Great Depression—a rollicking tale of love and liquor, preachers and prostitutes, trains and treasure, sure to appeal to fans of Water for Elephants, O Brother Where Art Thou?, Mark Twain, and Johnny Cash.Semifinalist for the Amazon Breakthrough Novel AwardPublishers Weekly says:”While the title suggests a raunchy read, this rich and soulful novel is actually a rather well-done bildungsroman [coming-of-age story] steeped in wanderlust and whimsy that at times recalls The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and at others a tamer On the Road. The story begins in 1936 as 19-year-old Tobias is thumbing his way from Remus, Mich., to his uncle’s farm in Glen Rose, Tex., to find a hidden bag of money, after his father, a Baptist pastor, drunkenly slams his car into the church and is removed from the parsonage. The author does an excellent job in making well-charted territory (riding the rails; scavenged campfire meals under the stars) seem vibrant and new. Snippets of scripture, Southern spirituals, and folk ballads lend context and flavor to the text. Most impressive are the jangly dialogue and the characters’ distinctive voices, which are authentic and earthy but not remotely hoary. When Tobias finally arrives at his uncle’s, the surprises that await him are more than enough to keep his–and readers’–interests piqued.” (Review from the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award)”The Dirty Parts of the Bible has it all … a plot that brings lots of laughs and a few tears, a writing style that is comfortable and matches the story, and characters that are pure joy.” –Front Street Reviews”The Dirty Parts of the Bible is a grown-up Mark Twain-type adventure with lots of spirit and humor.” –Reader Views”A fun read.” –The Nashville Scene

Author: Sam Torode

Rating: Rating: 4.30 / 5
2121 reviews

The Big Lead: A Stella Reynolds Mystery, Book 1 (Stella Reynolds Mystery Series) by Libby Kirsch

Stella Reynolds is new to the job, new to the state, and new to making mistakes in front of thousands of people, but that’s exactly what she signs up for when she takes a job as a TV reporter in the mountains of Bozeman, Montana. Being on live TV in a small town has never been so funny, until Stella covers the town’s first murders in years.

When the prime suspect’s girlfriend enlists Stella to help clear his name, she uncovers another shocking crime that could expose a handful of powerful insiders.

Who is honest, who can’t be trusted, and who committed the murders? Stella is on a tight deadline to find out. Can she help free an innocent man, or will the real culprit get away with murder?

Author: Libby Kirsch

Rating: Rating: 4.30 / 5
381 reviews

Just Different Devils (Hetta Coffey Series Book 7) by Jinx Schwartz

Hetta Coffey is a sassy Texan with a snazzy yacht, and she’s not afraid to use it—most of the time.
She’s an intrepid cruiser, but wild rumors of marauding gangs of flesh-shredding giant Humboldt squid on a rampage in the Sea of Cortez could keep even Hetta tied to an expensive dock. However, when the opportunity for an intriguing and highly lucrative charter arises she talks her best friend, Jan, into signing on for a mysterious cruise.
Damn the calamari! Full bank account ahead!

Author: Jinx Schwartz

Rating: Rating: 4.70 / 5
478 reviews

Bedding The Wrong Brother (Bedding the Bachelors, Book 1) by Virna DePaul

Determined to find her inner sex diva, Melina Parker enlists her childhood friend, Max Dalton, to tutor her after hours. Instead, she ends up in the wrong bed and gets a lesson in passion from Max’s twin brother, Rhys Dalton, a man Melina’s always secretly wanted but never thought she could have.

Author: Virna DePaul

Rating: Rating: 4.30 / 5
1189 reviews