The Piano Girl – Part 1: She plays from memory. Her memories. (Counterfeit Princess Series) by Sherri Schoenborn Murray

She plays from memory. Her memories.
The day after her sixteenth birthday, Princess Alia finds out that she’s been given away in marriage to a man she’s never met. The war has just ended, and for Alia’s protection, she must travel to her future kingdom disguised as a chicken farmer’s daughter. This princess to pauper story is filled with problems, prayers and plenty of piano. This is Part One of a two-part series. In 2016, the Counterfeit Princess series will continue with Alia’s sister, Wren.

Author: Sherri Schoenborn Murray

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
278 reviews

The First Time I Said Goodbye by Claire Allan

Would you hold on tighter if you knew you were saying goodbye forever?In 1959, factory girl Stella Hegarty finds herself falling unexpectedly for the charms of a handsome US marine based in Derry.Caught up in a whirlwind of romance, Stella finds herself planning a new life in America with her beloved Ray.But when tragedy steps in, both their lives are thrown into turmoil and they come to realise they may have said their first, and last goodbye.In 2010, Annabel Jackson, reeling from the loss of her father, agrees to accompany her mother Stella back to Ireland to meet her family for the first time. In Derry they both start to realise that sometimes you have to say goodbye to what you thought you always wanted, in order to find what you have needed all along.Editorial Reviews“One of the most scrumptious books i think I’ve ever read”All Things Books“Like a hug in a book! … ideal book for those who doubts there’s such a thing as having it all” – Woman’s Way“An amazing story of first love and how, even years later, the feelings can still exist. Based on a true story, this was my favourite tale of true love in recent years. Sweet, warm and endearing, it stayed with me for weeks after I had finished it. For all of us that believe there is a soulmate out there for everyone.” Bleach House LibraryQuite simply, this is one of the nicest, warmest and moving love stories I have read in years and I found myself very emotional while reading it. It had some personal meaning to me, as it was a similar tale to a relative of mine, and I had to stop reading a few times in order to pull myself together. I didn’t want it to end and the lump in my throat remains with me, even as I write this review. Writing.ieI LOVED this book. I was completely absorbed in it …I really couldn’t put it down – At Home with Mrs M“A feel-good, touching and amusing tale which readers will find hard to put down” – Irish Independent

Author: Claire Allan

Rating: Rating: 4.50 / 5
489 reviews

The Dirty Parts of the Bible — A Novel by Sam Torode

“Funny as Hell, with a Heart as Big as Texas”The Dirty Parts of the Bible is a humorous adventure across America during the Great Depression—a rollicking tale of love and liquor, preachers and prostitutes, trains and treasure, sure to appeal to fans of Water for Elephants, O Brother Where Art Thou?, Mark Twain, and Johnny Cash.Semifinalist for the Amazon Breakthrough Novel AwardPublishers Weekly says:”While the title suggests a raunchy read, this rich and soulful novel is actually a rather well-done bildungsroman [coming-of-age story] steeped in wanderlust and whimsy that at times recalls The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and at others a tamer On the Road. The story begins in 1936 as 19-year-old Tobias is thumbing his way from Remus, Mich., to his uncle’s farm in Glen Rose, Tex., to find a hidden bag of money, after his father, a Baptist pastor, drunkenly slams his car into the church and is removed from the parsonage. The author does an excellent job in making well-charted territory (riding the rails; scavenged campfire meals under the stars) seem vibrant and new. Snippets of scripture, Southern spirituals, and folk ballads lend context and flavor to the text. Most impressive are the jangly dialogue and the characters’ distinctive voices, which are authentic and earthy but not remotely hoary. When Tobias finally arrives at his uncle’s, the surprises that await him are more than enough to keep his–and readers’–interests piqued.” (Review from the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award)”The Dirty Parts of the Bible has it all … a plot that brings lots of laughs and a few tears, a writing style that is comfortable and matches the story, and characters that are pure joy.” –Front Street Reviews”The Dirty Parts of the Bible is a grown-up Mark Twain-type adventure with lots of spirit and humor.” –Reader Views”A fun read.” –The Nashville Scene

Author: Sam Torode

Rating: Rating: 4.30 / 5
2139 reviews

Hollywood Dirt by Alessandra Torre

A Hollywood Superstar. A Small Town Girl. Opposites shouldn’t always attract.Cole Masten. Abandoned by his superstar wife, Hollywood’s Perfect Husband is now Hollywood’s Sexiest Bachelor: partying hard and screwing even harder. Watch out Los Angeles, there’s a new bad boy in town.Summer Jenkins. That’s me, a small town girl stuck in Quincy, Georgia. I cook some mean chicken and dumplins, can bluff a grown man out of his savings in poker, and was voted Most Friendly my senior year.We were from different worlds. Our lives shouldn’t have collided. But then Cole Masten read a book about my small town. And six months later, his jet landed on our dusty airstrip, and he brought Hollywood with him.From the start, I knew he was trouble. For our town. And for me.Sometimes, opposites just aren’t meant to attract.

Author: Alessandra Torre

Rating: Rating: 4.60 / 5
1379 reviews

Allan Quatermain by H. Rider Haggard

The heroes of King Solomon’s Mines return to Africa in this action-packed sequel that inspired the film Allan Quatermain and the Lost City of Gold.   Allan Quatermain, big-game hunter and explorer, has recently lost his son, Harry, to smallpox and is ready to get away from civilization. Rather than continue to wallow in grief surrounded by his trophies and guns in England, he instead chooses adventure and journeys to eastern Africa with his friends, Sir Henry Curtis and Capt. John Good.   With Zulu chief Umslopogaas accompanying them, they head to uncharted territory in search of the Zu-Vendis, a race of white-skinned people rumored to be isolated from the other tribes of Africa and ruled by two beautiful sister queens. There, the travelers confront angry Zu-Vendi priests who admonish the men for killing their sacred hippopotamuses—and Curtis unwittingly becomes part of a tumultuous love triangle with the sister queens.   Soon, the party of adventurers finds themselves embroiled in a civil war. Each queen is now vying for the throne, but only one faction will win—and not everyone will survive.

Author: H. Rider Haggard

Rating: Rating: 4.20 / 5
299 reviews

The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas

In seventeenth-century France, a daring young man defends the queen’s honor and tests his skills against the best swordsmen of the day D’Artagnan journeys to Paris armed with nothing but his sword, his courage, and a burning desire to prove his mettle as a member of King Louis XIII’s elite guardsmen. A swashbuckling corps of gentlemen rogues, the Musketeers live to antagonize Cardinal Richelieu and sweep every woman in France off her feet. Before d’Artagnan can join their ranks, however, he must distinguish himself on the field of battle.   On his first day in the capital, d’Artagnan accidentally offends the honor of three dashing Musketeers—Athos, Porthos, and Aramis—and agrees to duel each one in turn. But before they can match steel, the combatants are interrupted by the cardinal’s guards, embroiling d’Artagnan in complex affairs of state, dangerous court intrigues, and a sinister battle against the wily and seductive spy Milady de Winter.   A richly detailed historical novel and one of the greatest adventure stories ever told, The Three Musketeers is a masterwork of Western literature.   This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices. 

Author: Alexandre Dumas

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
1530 reviews

Les Misérables by Victor Hugo

The novel that inspired the beloved Broadway musical: Jean Valjean’s immortal adventure among the dispossessed of nineteenth-century Paris. Widely considered Victor Hugo’s masterpiece, Les Misérables is both an epic story and a penetrating social criticism of nineteenth-century France. In this tale of crime, punishment, love, and the pursuit of justice, we meet some of the most unforgettable characters in literature, including Jean Valjean, the heroic peasant arrested for stealing a loaf of bread; Cossette, the abused daughter of a prostitute; and Inspector Javert, the policeman who relentlessly hounds Valjean at every turn. With encyclopedic sweep, Hugo’s novel investigates topics ranging from the construction of Parisian sewers to the Battle of Waterloo.   First published in 1862, Les Misérables has inspired numerous film adaptions as well as the long-running stage musical by Claude-Michel Schönberg. It is, in the words of Upton Sinclair, “one of the half-dozen greatest novels in the world.”  This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.  

Author: Victor Hugo

Rating: Rating: 4.20 / 5
4174 reviews

Long Journey Home: A Young Girl’s Memoir of Surviving the Holocaust by Lucy Lipiner

The summer of 1939 turned out to be the last summer of author Lucy Lipiner’s childhood. On September 1, when she was six years old, her parents roused her and her older sister from their beds and, with other relatives in tow, left their town of Sucha, home to 780 Jewish people. It was a decision carefully planned and carried out by the author’s father which resulted in saving the lives of fifteen people.

But the journey of survival was not an easy one, and in Long Journey Home A Young Girl’s Memoir of Surviving the Holocaust, from the perspective of that little girl, Lipiner narrates her family’s story. She tells of an odyssey of escape and rescue full of hardships and tribulation. From her sheltered life in a picturesque small town at the foothills of the Tatra Mountains to her time as a barefoot and hungry little girl in Siberia and Tajikistan in central Asia, and finally her arrival in America, this memoir shares the emotional details and the physical struggles of a ten-year flight to freedom.

A story of resilience, Long Journey Home A Young Girl’s Memoir of Surviving the Holocaust provides a detailed, historical account of a little-known and rarely discussed group of Holocaust survivors.

Author: Lucy Lipiner

Rating: Rating: 4.60 / 5
447 reviews