The Dirty Parts of the Bible — A Novel by Sam Torode

“Funny as Hell, with a Heart as Big as Texas”The Dirty Parts of the Bible is a humorous adventure across America during the Great Depression—a rollicking tale of love and liquor, preachers and prostitutes, trains and treasure, sure to appeal to fans of Water for Elephants, O Brother Where Art Thou?, Mark Twain, and Johnny Cash.Semifinalist for the Amazon Breakthrough Novel AwardPublishers Weekly says:”While the title suggests a raunchy read, this rich and soulful novel is actually a rather well-done bildungsroman [coming-of-age story] steeped in wanderlust and whimsy that at times recalls The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and at others a tamer On the Road. The story begins in 1936 as 19-year-old Tobias is thumbing his way from Remus, Mich., to his uncle’s farm in Glen Rose, Tex., to find a hidden bag of money, after his father, a Baptist pastor, drunkenly slams his car into the church and is removed from the parsonage. The author does an excellent job in making well-charted territory (riding the rails; scavenged campfire meals under the stars) seem vibrant and new. Snippets of scripture, Southern spirituals, and folk ballads lend context and flavor to the text. Most impressive are the jangly dialogue and the characters’ distinctive voices, which are authentic and earthy but not remotely hoary. When Tobias finally arrives at his uncle’s, the surprises that await him are more than enough to keep his–and readers’–interests piqued.” (Review from the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award)”The Dirty Parts of the Bible has it all … a plot that brings lots of laughs and a few tears, a writing style that is comfortable and matches the story, and characters that are pure joy.” –Front Street Reviews”The Dirty Parts of the Bible is a grown-up Mark Twain-type adventure with lots of spirit and humor.” –Reader Views”A fun read.” –The Nashville Scene

Author: Sam Torode

Rating: Rating: 4.30 / 5
1318 reviews

Hearts in Defiance (Romance in the Rockies Book 2) by Heather Blanton

MEN MAKE MISTAKES. GOD WILL FORGIVE THEM. WILL THEIR WOMEN?
Charles McIntyre built the lawless, godless mining town of Defiance practically with his bare hands … and without any remorse for the lives he destroyed along the way. Then a glimpse of true love, both earthly and heavenly, changed him. The question is, how much? Naomi Miller is a beautiful, decent woman. She says she loves McIntyre, that God does, too, and the past is behind them now. But McIntyre struggles to believe he’s worth saving … worth loving. Unfortunately, the temptations in Defiance only reinforce his doubts.

Billy Page abandoned Hannah Frink when he discovered she was going to have his baby … and now he can’t live with himself. Or without her. Determined to prove his love, he leaves his family and fortune behind and journeys to Defiance. Will Hannah take Billy back or give him what he deserves for the betrayal?

On a mountain high in the Rockies, looking down the barrel of a gun, both men will come to some stunning conclusions.

~~ The sequel to the highly acclaimed, best-selling western romance A Lady in Defiance! ~~

Author: Heather Blanton

Rating: Rating: 4.80 / 5
174 reviews

A Love by Any Measure by Killian McRae

August Grayson has secretly dreamt of the girl living on his family’s Irish estate since childhoods spent together in Killarney. Now a proper Lord of the British Empire, he knows there’s no place for Maeve in his world. Still, if only…

Maeve O’Connor has nothing but her good name, which proves just enough to win a proposal to a good, Irish lad – for whom she feels nothing. Until the wedding, however, she’s in dire straits. Rent on the cottage she and her father share is due, but there simply isn’t the money to pay. Driven to desperation, Maeve hopes Lord Grayson, her childhood-chum-turned-dashing-English-rogue, will prove lenient when she comes seeking clemency.

The temptation presented proves too much, and August offers Maeve a compromise: should she permit him twice as long on each succeeding visit to do whatever he wishes in pursuit of his pleasure, he will consider her rent paid. Starting with a mere five seconds, pulses soon out race the ticking clock, as August’s desires become Maeve’s own. Passion blinds them to the challenges closing in on both the Irish and English fronts, threatening to destroy them both.

Working to bridge that which divides them, tempting fate with each stolen kiss, and torn between desire and obligation, Maeve and August must strive to overcome all and find a love by any measure.

Author: Killian McRae

Rating: Rating: 4.30 / 5
157 reviews

Daughter of Joy (Brides of Culdee Creek Book #1) by Kathleen Morgan

These classic historical romance novels are getting a new look for the next generation of readers. But the wonderful stories remain the same, as touching and fresh as they were when first published.Praise for the Brides of Culdee Creek series:"A poignant love story that will remain with the reader long after the book is closed."–Lori Copeland, author of the Brides of the West series"A beautiful story of redemptive love. . . . A memorable read."–Robin Lee Hatcher, author of Catching Katie"A spectacular new series."–Library JournalPraise for Kathleen Morgan:"Kathleen Morgan writes with deep emotion and feeling."–Reader to Reader"A marvelous storyteller."–Romantic Times"Kathleen Morgan is a phenomenal writer!"–The Talisman

Author: Kathleen Morgan

Rating: Rating: 4.50 / 5
2149 reviews

The Search (Xist Classics) by Grace Livingston Hill

Our Search for Love Can Lead Us to GodOnce childhood friends, John Cameron and Ruth MacDonald rediscover themselves in the eve of World War One. John has to fulfill his duties yet he tries to refuel his regained relationship with Ruth. During their brief correspondence, they remember the affection towards each other and towards God.

Author: Grace Livingston Hill

Rating: Rating: 4.50 / 5
73 reviews

Exit Betty (Xist Classics) by Grace Livingston Hill

Is Running Away from Danger Actually a Good Decision?Upon looking at the bridegroom at the altar, Betty Stanhope realizes she’s on the verge of possibly making the biggest mistake of her life. So she takes advantage of a series of favorable situations and runs away. She meets Jane who helps her get out of town. But is this a wise decision?

Author: Grace Livingston Hill

Rating: Rating: 4.50 / 5
84 reviews

The Man of the Desert (Xist Classics) by Grace Livingston Hill

How Can You Love One Who Has Sacrificed His Whole Life to Serve God?Lost in the Arizona Desert and found by a handsome Christian missionary, Hazel Radcliffe is in turmoil: he falls in love with God’s servant yet she finds herself unworthy of being his lover. That’s why she needs to transform herself and become a better person. But is this self-transformation enough?

Author: Grace Livingston Hill

Rating: Rating: 4.70 / 5
87 reviews

Marcia Schulyer (Xist Classics) by Grace Livingston Hill and E. L. Henry

A Story about Falling in Love“Kate as she was at home without varnish or furbelows.” – Grace Livingston Hill, Marcia SchuylerKate Schuyler is about to wed but at the last moment, she has a change of heart and runs away. To avoid embarrassment, her family convince her sister Marcia to take David Spafford as husband. David agrees and the wedding goes on. Now Marcia and David need to learn how to fall in love with each other.

Author: Grace Livingston Hill and E. L. Henry

Rating: Rating: 4.60 / 5
191 reviews

Cloudy Jewel (Xist Classics) by Grace Livingston Hill

When One Person’s Trash Becomes Another’s TreasureMistreated by her selfish sister and in danger of becoming a mere servant, Julia Cloud is saved by her niece and nephew. Both are in college and both are in need of a guiding mother. Julia succeeds in undertaking this role and soon becomes known as ‘Cloudy Jewel.’

Author: Grace Livingston Hill

Rating: Rating: 4.30 / 5
278 reviews

Agnes Campbell’s Hat by Danni McGriffith and Terri Valentine

After an old hat and a storm leave modern girl, Tessa Hensen, trapped in a past century and living in the hobbit-like house of a homesteader’s family on the Oklahoma Territory prairie, she is forced to accept help from an infuriating farm boy to get back to her real life.
Tessa lives as twelve-year-old Agnes Campbell while Judd Howard helps her solve the mystery of the hat. Sparks fly between the two of them as his old world and her new world collide. He does everything possible to get rid of her; she longs to escape him and his grumpy, old-fashioned ideas about everything.
Gradually, her unwanted family’s everyday struggle for survival draws Tessa into the past. When Elizabeth—a Kiowa Indian girl—befriends her, the hardships finally seem bearable.
The two girls face a terrifying encounter with an outlaw and an old Christian man sacrifices his life for theirs, forcing Tessa to ask herself the question: Does she really want to leave behind the past…and Judd?

Author: Danni McGriffith and Terri Valentine

Rating: Rating: 4.80 / 5
26 reviews