A Kingdom’s Cost: A Historical Novel of Scotland (The Black Douglas Trilogy Book 1) by J. R. Tomlin

Eighteen-year-old James Douglas can only watch, helpless, as the Scottish freedom fighter, William Wallace, is hanged, drawn, and quartered. Even under the heel of a brutal English conqueror, James’s blood-drenched homeland may still have one hope for freedom, the rightful king of the Scots, Robert the Bruce. James swears fealty to the man he believes can lead the fight against English tyranny.

The Bruce is soon a fugitive, king in name and nothing more. Scotland is occupied, the Scottish resistance crushed. The woman James loves is captured and imprisoned. Yet James believes their cause is not lost. With driving determination, he blazes a path in blood and violence, in cunning and ruthlessness as he wages a guerrilla war to restore Scotland’s freedom. James knows he risks sharing Wallace’s fate, but what he truly fears is that he has become as merciless as the conqueror he fights.

Author: J. R. Tomlin

Rating: Rating: 4.20 / 5
394 reviews

Claiming Victory: A Romantic Comedy (The Dartmouth Diaries Book 1) by Beverley Watts

Claiming Victory is a funny contemporary romantic comedy that will appeal to every woman who still believes fairy tales can come true…

…”So let me get this straight Admiral. Your plan is to somehow get the most famous actor in the world, to fall in love with your daughter Victory, who we both love dearly, but – and please don’t take offence Sir – who you yourself admit is built generously across the aft, and whose face is unlikely to launch the Dartmouth ferry, let alone a thousand ships…”

Victory Shackleford is a spinster, or at least well on the way to becoming one. She is thirty two years old, still lives with her father – an eccentric retired Admiral, and the love of her life is a dog.
She thinks her father is reckless, irresponsible, and totally incapable of looking after himself. He thinks his daughter is a boring nagging harpy with no imagination or sense of adventure and what’s more, he’s determined to get her married off.
Unfortunately there’s no one in the picturesque yachting town of Dartmouth that Tory is remotely interested in, despite her father’s best efforts.
But all that is about to change when she discovers that her madcap father has rented out their house as a location shoot for the biggest blockbuster of the year. As cast and crew descend, Tory’s humdrum orderly existence is turned completely upside down, especially as the lead actor has just been voted the sexiest man on the planet…

Full of romantic humour, Claiming Victory is a must for fans of funny love stories – especially quirky British Romantic comedies.

Author: Beverley Watts

Rating: Rating: 4.20 / 5
233 reviews

To Save a Sinner by Adele Clee

Historical Regency Romance

To Save a Sinner
Shunned by Society for causing the death of Lord Banbury, the charismatic Lucas Dempsey is disowned by his family and sent to live in Boston. When his brother pleads for his return, Lucas expects to be the topic of scandalous gossip. He did not expect to be woken from his bed by an intriguing young lady determined to save his wicked soul.

Winner of the 2015 Chicago-North RWA Fire & Ice Contest (historical category)

Author: Adele Clee

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
385 reviews

A Scone To Die For (Oxford Tearoom Mysteries ~ Book 1) by H.Y. Hanna

“Scones, a tea shop in England, a kitty & a murder – yes, please!”When an American tourist is murdered with a scone in her quaint English tearoom, Gemma must solve the mystery with the help of the nosy Old Biddies and a mischievous little feline named Muesli. But between her bossy, matchmaking mother and the return of her old college love as a handsome CID detective, Gemma soon has her hands full and her head spinning!Murder is bad for business, especially when customers think your scones are more deadly than delicious. With the body count rising and her tearoom going bust, can Gemma find the killer before things turn to custard?(*Traditional English scone recipe included)This book follows British English spelling and usage.Clean read: no graphic violence, sex, or strong language.Genre: humorous culinary cozy mysteries, cat cozy mystery series / women amateur sleuth / British detective mysteryOXFORD TEAROOM MYSTERIESA Scone To Die For (Book 1)Tea with Milk and Murder (Book 2)Two Down, Bun To Go (Book 3)Till Death Do Us Tart (Book 4)Muffins and Mourning Tea (Book 5)Four Puddings and a Funeral (Book 6)

Author: H.Y. Hanna

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
643 reviews

Shadowland by C.M. Gray

This is the story that came before, when Britain was just a Shadowland.We grow up with the Legend of King Arthur, but where did he come from? Who was Merlin? What part did the Druids play in bringing Arthur to his round table? On the night of Midwinter’s Eve, a storyteller takes his listeners back to the Dark Ages and a tale from his youth:`I have lived more years than I can remember, probably more than the sum of all your years combined. Kings have called me friend and brigands have sworn to burn the flesh from my bones, even if they have to search all seven halls of the shadowland to find me.’Deserted by its Roman masters, Britain has been invaded by the Saxons at the invitation of Vortigern, traitorous leader of the Britons. As the tribes unite to reclaim their land, one man must rise to lead them and become their only true king.

Author: C.M. Gray

Rating: Rating: 4.30 / 5
278 reviews

Winning Ace: A Winning Ace Novel (Book 1) by Tracie Delaney

Does Tally McKenzie want the man? Or the story?She can’t have both.Tally’s driven. She loves being a reporter. All she needs is a big break. When it comes, she won’t miss it.Cash dominates centre court. Outside tennis, he keeps everyone at arms length, especially the press. What if they discover his secret?Tally, though, gets through, and there’s a spark… a hot, burning spark.He trusts her. Was it a mistake?Will she betray him?Her heart wants love—and the promotion.Which will she choose?To find out, grab your copy of Winning Ace, the first in the Winning Ace series today.

Author: Tracie Delaney

Rating: Rating: 4.60 / 5
83 reviews

Mission Improbable (Carrie Hatchett, Space Adventurer Series Book 1) by J.J. Green

In the deepest reaches of the galaxy there are places and beings that aren’t impossible, just very, very improbable.
Carrie Hatchett is a low-achieving daydreamer, and the last person on Earth who should be resolving disputes for the Transgalactic Council. After providing a good home for her butt-ugly dog and psychotic cat, her biggest challenge in life is to avoid being fired, again.
But a strange green mist sucks her beneath her kitchen sink, and an unusual clerical error leads to an offer she foolishly doesn’t refuse.
In settling a conflict between the mechanical placktoids and the mysterious oootoon, Carrie reveals a threat to the entire galaxy.
Mission Improbable is Book One in the light-hearted, fast-paced Carrie Hatchett Space Adventures series.
Fans of Dr Who and Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy will love this book.

“…like Scully and Mulder on acid.”

Author: J.J. Green

Rating: Rating: 4.20 / 5
77 reviews

Salty 10: An Unforgettable Journey (A Ghetto Soap Opera) by Aleta Williams

Salty 10: An Unforgettable Journey
Take your finale ride with these Salty characters’ and see firsthand how this ghetto soap opera will end.

Author: Aleta Williams

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
96 reviews