Fierce Light by Linda Scheller

The voices of brilliant women from the world’s past resonate in thought-provoking poetry based on Scheller’s extensive research into 36 great women’s circumstances and accomplishments. In diverse poetic form and tone, Harriet Tubman, Frida Kahlo, and Ada Lovelace speak alongside lesser-known heroines including Tsuyako Kitashima, Bessie Coleman, and Margaret Ann Bulkley. Filtering history through the lens of imagination, the poems in Fierce Light illuminate a fascinating pantheon of women whose courage and determination imbue the reader with awe and inspiration.

Author: Linda Scheller

Rating: Rating: 5.00 / 5
5 reviews

A Shot at the Big Time (Maxima City Talent Book 1) by Christina McMullen

Lisa Raskin is a woman with big aspirations. Sure, there are worse things than being the second in command to Maxima City’s one and only female supervillain and Lisa knows she has a pretty sweet gig. But no one ever dreams of being second banana, so when she’s given the opportunity to join the Coalition of Evil, Maxima City’s who’s-who of A-lister Malevolents, Lisa jumps at the chance. Especially since this means she can finally have her revenge against Magnificent Man, the hero responsible for the tragedy that turned her to the dark side. But becoming a household name isn’t all evil plans and underground lairs. There are hoops to jump through, brand consultation meetings, damages to pay for, and diva costume designers to deal with. Worst of all, Magnificent Man has made himself scarcer than pockets on women’s clothing. Add in an antagonistic ex, a clueless rival, and a taxing day job, and it’s no wonder this ice talent is about to lose her cool.

Author: Christina McMullen

Rating: Rating: 5.00 / 5
5 reviews

Insomniacs, We by J. Andrew Schrecker

Insomniacs compose grocery lists and manifestos, a phoenix lies charred in its own ashes, and shadows hide in corners, afraid of themselves. In this decade-spanning volume of poetry, J. Andrew Schrecker blends surrealism, observation, and personal confession to paint a portrait of heartache and longing in recession-torn America.

Author: J. Andrew Schrecker

Rating: Rating: 5.00 / 5
5 reviews

Molly Miranda: Thief for Hire (Book 1) Action Adventure Comedy by Jillianne Hamilton

Shortlisted for the 2016 Prince Edward Island Book Award for fiction.Join Molly on her hilarious adventures as she dodges bullets, trespasses, wears disguises, and steals her way into trouble.Professional, experienced contract burglar.It’s not exactly something you can put on a business card.Molly Miranda has made a successful living from “acquiring” valuables and delivering them to clients who pay buckets of cash for her unique services.So what if she has to lie about her lavish lifestyle in Manhattan and her frequent trips out of the country? Molly has everything under control.Things go astray when she knocks boots with her charming roommate right before taking off to Scotland with an untrustworthy wildcard on a job assignment that doesn’t go quite as planned.It doesn’t help that this new partner-in-crime is super annoying. And attractive…The sequel, Molly Miranda: Thick as Thieves, out now!Perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series or comedies by Meg Cabot. Recently reached #3 in Women’s Adventure and #4 in Humor & Satire (American) on Amazon!Praise for Molly Miranda”How much fun is this? I’m loving the debut from Hamilton–now I need more about her sassy, sometimes awkward and always brave heroine, Molly Miranda. Stealing other people’s stuff has never been so charming. Bravo!”- Patti Larsen, award-winning author of the Hayle Coven series”It’s tense and smart-alecky. It’s likeable without being sweet. It’s sexy and tough, and as apt to kick you in the pants as to kiss you on the cheek.”- Award-winning author Leo McKay Jr.”Molly Miranda is a fun read with some good messages of self awareness and identity laced through the humour and suspense.”- Author Natalie Corbett SampsonAuthor Q&ATell us about Molly Miranda. What makes her tick?Molly Miranda is in her early twenties and has a pretty average life- except for the fact that she makes her living by stealing big ticket items like art, jewelry and the odd historical artifact. She doesn’t really consider herself good at anything else and gets twitchy when she’s not out on assignment. She feels safest when she’s just acquired a hefty amount of cash as money equals stability. For Molly, financial security equals happiness. Have you always been interested in thieves in fiction? If not, why now?Not specifically. I knew I wanted to make Molly a criminal. I initially considered making her a hired assassin but thought it might be easier to make her a likeable character if her crime didn’t physically hurt anyone so I made her a burglar who steals items from people who can afford to have things stolen from them. Plus, my book is a comedy. Much easier to make a book funny and light-hearted if nobody is being murdered. Once I decided to make her a thief, I did some research and became fascinated. Obsessed, even. I think I could pull of a decent heist if the opportunity ever came up. What sort of research went into Thief For Hire?I basically inhaled Confessions of a Master Jewel Thief by Bill Mason. Such a fantastic read. Unbelievable. I also read Catch Me If You Can by Frank Abagnale, The Rescue Artist by Edward Dolnick, The Thefts of the Mona Lisa by Noah Charney (Charney is a fantastic wealth of art theft information) and The Gardner Heist by Ulrich Boser. I’ve also watched a lot of documentaries on art forgeries, art thefts and famous thieves like Bonnie and Clyde.(Courtesy of author John L. Monk)

Author: Jillianne Hamilton

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
103 reviews

Wanna Get Lucky? (The Lucky O’Toole Vegas Adventure Series Book 1) by Deborah Coonts

A young woman plunges from a Las Vegas sightseeing helicopter, landing in the Pirate Lagoon in front of the Treasure Island Hotel in the middle of the 8:30 Pirate Show. Almost everyone writes her off as another Vegas victim. But, Lucky O’Toole, head of customer relations at the Babylon megacasino, smell a rat, though she’s got a lot on her plate: the adult film industry’s annual awards banquet, a spouse-swapping convention, sex-toy purveyors preying on the pocket-protector crowd attending ElectroniCon… Still Lucky can’t resist turning over a few stones.

When a former flame is one of the snakes she uncovers, Lucky is certain the woman’s death was no Sin City suicide. To top it all off, Lucky’s best friend, Teddie—Las Vegas’s finest female impersonator—presses to take their relationship to the next level. Leave it to Lucky to attract a man who looks better in a dress than she does.

Lucky must manage the Babylon’s outrageous festivities, solve the crime, and struggle to keep her life and libido from spinning out of control.

PRAISE FOR WANNA GET LUCKY?

As the first in a series, Wanna Get Lucky? hits the proverbial jackpot. Booklist

When it comes to the crunch (something for a sullen teenager, hostile neighbor, unbearably saintly mother-in-law), the secret is to make them laugh. Deborah Coonts’sWANNA GET LUCKY? (Forge/Tom Doherty, $24.99), set at the “most over-the-top megacasino/resort on the Las Vegas Strip,” entrusts the sleuthing to a brainy beauty who sees the lighter side of human folly. Marilyn Stassio, NYT Book Review, choosing Wanna Get Lucky? As a Notable Crime Novel for 2010.

“Deliciously raunchy, with humorous takes on sexual proclivities, Vegas glitz and love, though Agatha Christie is probably spinning in her grave.”–Kirkus Reviews

“Complete with designer duds, porn conventions, partner-swapping parties, and clever repartee, this is chick-lit gone wild and sexy, lightly wrapped in mystery and tied up with a brilliantly flashing neon bow. As the first in a series, Wanna Get Lucky? hits the proverbial jackpot.” –Booklist

“Wanna Get Lucky? is a winner on every level. Deborah Coonts has crafted a first-class murder mystery coupled with a touching and unexpected love story. Against a flawlessly-rendered Las Vegas backdrop, Lucky’s story is funny, fast-paced, exuberant and brilliantly realized.”–Susan Wiggs, New York Times bestselling author
“Get ready to win big–with a novel that will keep you glued to the pages all the way to the end. Wanna Get Lucky? is as entertaining as the city in which it’s set.”
–Brenda Novak, New York Times bestselling author of Trust me, Stop Me, and Watch Me

More fun than a winning streak in Vegas. Diane Mott Davidson author of Fatally Flakey

Wanna Get Lucky goes down faster than an ice-cold Bombay martini—very dry, of course, and with a twist. Douglas Preston, New York times bestselling author of Impact.

Wanna Get Lucky? Is an amazing debut novel, a mile-a-minute read, with fantastic characters, dry wit, and the gritty neon feel of Las Vegas. Bravo to Deborah Coonts—I see a great future ahead. Heather Graham, New York Times bestselling author of Night of the Wolves.

Wanna Get Lucky sizzles. It beguiles and surprises. It’s belly-laugh funny. Add in unforgettable characters, crimes to die for, the ka-ching of high-stakes casinos, and Laura Ashley-decorated bordellos, and you have a read that’s utterly irresistible from first page to last. Watch out, Janet Evanovich. The new hot number is Deborah Coonts. Gayle Lynds, New York Times bestselling author of the Book of Spies.

Author: Deborah Coonts

Rating: Rating: 4.40 / 5
703 reviews

Set Free: A Second Chance Novel (Second Chance Series Book 1) by Kelly Collins

She may be out of jail, but she’s far from being free. ​When twenty-four-year-old Mickey Mercer walks out of the Denver Women’s Correctional Facility, she has two things on her mind: the friends she left behind and the rough road ahead. All she has in the outside world are a vengeful ex, a run-down ranch, a pickup truck … and an unlikely ally—the cop who gives her a ride home. Kerrick is bossy and irritating. He’s also a big, sexy hunk of distraction. She’s torn between sending him on his way and giving in to the desire sizzling between them.Detective Kerrick McKinley’s job is to protect and serve. The job consumes his life, until he gives a pretty, prickly ex-con a ride on a dusty road. But when they discover something is wrong out on Mickey’s ranch, Kerrick must either steer clear, or stand between her and the danger that prowls her range. She may be out of prison, but she’s still in trouble … too bad there’s nothing sexier than trouble in tight blue jeans.This unlikely couple must look deeper to learn that sometimes people aren’t what they seem. Sometimes they’re better.

Author: Kelly Collins

Rating: Rating: 4.50 / 5
126 reviews